
Disclosure: NOXI publishes this ranking. NOXI is a presentation maker, not a study assistant, so it is not one of the seven scored tools; it appears only in the section for students whose goal is a presentation and in the closing build-it flow.
Quick answer: The best AI tools for students in 2026 are Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM, 100 of 100) and Google Gemini (91), both covered by Google's free year of AI Pro for US college students who redeem by 31 December 2026. ChatGPT scores 83 while its four free months of Plus can be claimed, until 31 October 2026. Official pages, checked 24 October 2026.
The best AI tool for a student is the one your student status unlocks for free, that shows where its answers come from, and that keeps your coursework out of model training.
In short
- RankingGemini Notebook 100, Google Gemini 91, ChatGPT 83, Perplexity 80, Microsoft Copilot 68, Mistral Vibe 59, Claude 57.
- DeadlinesChatGPT Plus free for four months if you claim by 31 October 2026; Google AI Pro free for a year if you redeem by 31 December 2026. Both are for US college students.
- After 31 OctoberChatGPT's student-price rating falls from 4 to 2 and its total from 83 to 75, which puts Perplexity (80) third.
- SourcesGemini Notebook cites passages from your own uploads; Perplexity states that every answer includes inline citations.
- PrivacyGemini Notebook and Microsoft Copilot state that personal users' content is not used for training by default.
- MethodDocumented capability from official pages opened on 24 October 2026, not a new hands-on test. Answer quality is not scored.
Key numbers
For the wider picture of how students and teachers use AI, with every survey dated, see our AI in education statistics.
The ranking: 7 AI tools for students scored on 6 rules
Gemini Notebook leads with 100 of 100, Google Gemini follows at 91, ChatGPT at 83 and Perplexity at 80. Each "best when" line rests on a documented fact.
| # | Tool | Score | Best when |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gemini Notebook | 100 | You study from your own notes, slides and readings and want every answer cited to them, plus flashcards, quizzes and audio overviews. |
| 2 | Google Gemini | 91 | You want a tutor-style assistant with Guided Learning, quizzes and flashcards, free for a year through the AI Pro student plan. |
| 3 | ChatGPT | 83 | You want study mode on every plan, uploads of up to 512 MB per document and, until 31 October 2026, four free months of Plus. |
| 4 | Perplexity | 80 | Research comes first: inline citations on every answer, and Learn Mode with flashcards and quizzes on Education Pro at $10 a month. |
| 5 | Microsoft Copilot | 68 | You want a stated no-training rule, 20 files per conversation and Microsoft 365 at 50% off with your college email. |
| 6 | Mistral Vibe | 59 | You want Pro at $5.99 a month for up to 12 months, with web answers that link their sources. |
| 7 | Claude | 57 | You read long files: up to 20 per chat and 500 MB each, with an opt-out from training and incognito chats on every plan. |

Best AI for students on Reddit: what to check before you follow a thread
Reddit threads share students' experience of these tools, which this page does not score. Before acting on one, check the three facts that change fastest on the vendor's own page: whether the student offer is still open, whether answers show their sources, and whether training is on by default.
How we ranked: six printed rules, official pages only
Each tool is rated 1 to 5 on six criteria; points = rating ÷ 5 × weight, and the weights total 100.
| Code | Criterion (weight) | The rule, identical for every tool |
|---|---|---|
| S1 | Student price (20) | 5 = a paid tier free for 12 months or more through a student offer, or the full product free; 4 = a paid tier free for under 12 months, or 50% or more off for students; 3 = a student discount under 50%; 2 = no student offer, but a free plan exists; 1 = paid only. |
| S2 | Free plan for studying (15) | Count four things documented on the free plan: file uploads; web search or answers cited to your sources; a study or learning mode; quizzes or flashcards. 5 = four; 4 = three; 3 = two; 2 = one; 1 = none. |
| S3 | Learning features on the student plan (20) | Count four things documented: a guided or Socratic mode; quizzes; flashcards; audio or video overviews, or study guides. 5 = four; 4 = three; 3 = two; 2 = one; 1 = none. |
| S4 | Sources shown (15) | 5 = inline citations documented on every answer, or answers cited to your uploaded sources; 3 = citations when web search is used; 1 = none documented. |
| S5 | Training on your work (15) | 5 = the vendor states your content is not used for training by default; 4 = an opt-out plus a chat mode excluded from training; 3 = an opt-out only; 1 = nothing stated. |
| S6 | Works with your files (15) | 5 = uploads of PDFs and slides documented with a per-file limit of 100 MB or more, or 20 or more files per chat; 3 = uploads documented with smaller or unstated limits; 1 = none. |
Four clarifications apply to every tool. "Student plan" means the plan a verified student gets through the vendor's student offer, or the cheapest paid plan if there is no offer. A capability counts for a plan when a page lists it for that plan, or documents it with no plan limit and no other official page scopes it to other plans; a plan-specific statement beats a general one, and a feature only named in passing, with no page saying what it does or how to use it, does not count. A discount is the percentage the vendor states, or else is computed against the list price shown on the vendor's own page that day. S6 takes the highest per-file limit documented for the plan, in a chat, project or notebook.
This is a new rubric, built for study tools. It shares no criteria with our best AI chatbot ranking, so the two sets of totals measure different things.
Score table: every cell and its arithmetic
Gemini Notebook's 100 means it reaches the top rating on all six rules; it is a notebook for your own sources, not a general assistant.
| Tool | S1 Student price (20) | S2 Free plan (15) | S3 Learning (20) | S4 Sources (15) | S5 Training (15) | S6 Files (15) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini Notebook | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 100 |
| Google Gemini | 5 | 5 | 5 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 91 |
| ChatGPT | 4 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 83 |
| Perplexity | 3 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 3 | 5 | 80 |
| Microsoft Copilot | 4 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 68 |
| Mistral Vibe | 4 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 4 | 3 | 59 |
| Claude | 2 | 3 | 1 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 57 |
| # | Tool | Points: S1 + S2 + S3 + S4 + S5 + S6 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gemini Notebook | 20 + 15 + 20 + 15 + 15 + 15 | 100 |
| 2 | Google Gemini | 20 + 15 + 20 + 9 + 12 + 15 | 91 |
| 3 | ChatGPT | 16 + 15 + 16 + 9 + 12 + 15 | 83 |
| 4 | Perplexity | 12 + 9 + 20 + 15 + 9 + 15 | 80 |
| 5 | Microsoft Copilot | 16 + 9 + 4 + 9 + 15 + 15 | 68 |
| 6 | Mistral Vibe | 16 + 9 + 4 + 9 + 12 + 9 | 59 |
| 7 | Claude | 8 + 9 + 4 + 9 + 12 + 15 | 57 |
Points = rating ÷ 5 × weight, for example a 4 on student price is 4 ÷ 5 × 20 = 16.
How sensitive the order is
Four cells rest on a page that reads two ways or on a feature whose plan is not stated:
- Perplexity, student price: Education Pro costs $10 a month against Pro at $17 a month billed annually, the only Pro price on the page, which is 41.2% off (1 − 10 ÷ 17), so S1 = 3. If Perplexity documents a discount of 50% or more, S1 = 4 and Perplexity scores 84, ahead of ChatGPT's 83.
- Perplexity, free plan: the Learn Mode article says it is "available for all users, including free and logged-out users" and also that it "is only available via the toggle to verified students". We read the narrower line. Counted for Free, S2 = 5 and Perplexity scores 86.
- Claude, learning features: Anthropic introduced its learning mode as part of Claude for Education (2 April 2025), and the pricing page lists it under the Education plan. If Anthropic documents it for Free and Pro, S2 = 4 and S3 = 2, and Claude scores 64.
- Microsoft Copilot, learning features: the Study and Learn Agent, with flashcards and quizzes, is documented for Microsoft 365 Education licences (A1, A3, A5), not for the consumer plan students buy at 50% off. A Microsoft FAQ names Learn Live, where the Mico character "works as a tutor", in one line, with no plan and no page that describes it. Counted as a free tutoring mode, S2 = 4 and S3 = 2, and Copilot scores 75, still fifth.
Free AI for students: every offer, its deadline and its eligibility
The best free AI for students is Google's AI Pro student plan, free for a year for eligible US college students aged 18 and over who redeem by 31 December 2026; it covers both Gemini and Gemini Notebook. ChatGPT Plus is free for four months if you claim by 31 October 2026. The other student offers are discounts with no end date stated.
| Offer | What you get | Deadline | Eligibility, in the vendor's words | After the offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Pro student plan (Gemini, Gemini Notebook) | Free for 1 year | "Redeem until December 31, 2026" | "eligible U.S. college students ages 18+"; "Eligibility must be verified each year to maintain access" | "$19.99/month after the trial ends", unless cancelled earlier |
| ChatGPT Plus, Back to School offer | Four free monthly billing periods | "Claim the offer by October 31, 2026" | "current full-time and part-time college and graduate students enrolled at eligible U.S. degree-granting institutions"; SheerID checks enrolment; a payment method is required | "$20 per month unless you cancel" |
| Perplexity Education Pro | "$10/mo with verification from SheerID" | None stated | "verified students and faculty at university-level institutions" | Not applicable: a standing discount |
| Microsoft 365 with Copilot | "save 50%" | None stated | "Use your college email" | Not stated on the page |
| Mistral Pro, education plan | "$5.99 / month (normally $14.99)" | "Valid for a maximum of 12 months" | "verified students at accredited higher institutions", if you have not used Vibe or Le Chat before | Pro list price $14.99 a month |
| Claude | No individual student offer | — | Education is "a comprehensive university-wide plan for institutions" | Free plan, or Pro at $20 a month |

Best AI tools for college students on a zero budget
A US college student who redeems Google's offer gets the top two tools of this ranking, Gemini and Gemini Notebook on AI Pro, for a year at no cost. Every other tool here has a free plan too: ChatGPT's includes study mode and three file uploads a day, and Perplexity's includes cited search. Set a reminder before each renewal date: $19.99 a month at Google and $20 at OpenAI, unless you cancel.
Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM): what changed and why it ranks first
Gemini Notebook is the new name of NotebookLM: Google's own FAQ says "NotebookLM is now Gemini Notebook as of July 2026", and that existing notebooks remain accessible. It ranks first because it is the only tool at the top rating on all six rules: answers cite passages from your own uploads, and it documents every study feature counted, a no-training default and 200 MB files.
What happened to NotebookLM?
Nothing was removed. The product, the notebooks and the help centre moved to the Gemini Notebook name; Google says it is "the same product you know and love", still usable "across web and mobile as a standalone tool". If you have used it to build slide decks, our guide to NotebookLM slides to editable PowerPoint covers that part.
What Gemini Notebook documents for studying
- Your sources: PDF, Word, PowerPoint, Google Docs and Slides, web URLs, public YouTube videos and audio, "up to 500,000 words or up to 200MB" each; 50 sources per notebook without a plan, 300 on Google AI Pro.
- Citations: it "uses direct quotes, text, and images from your sources as citations".
- Study tools: flashcards, quizzes, Audio and Video Overviews, mind maps, slide decks and reports, including a study-guide report, plus the Learning Guide chat style.
The 7 tools: offer, study features, sources, privacy, age and files
Each card gives the six ratings with the quote they rest on. Prices are US prices on 24 October 2026.
1. Gemini Notebook (formerly NotebookLM) 100 / 100
Plans. Free with a Google account; higher limits on Google AI Pro, which eligible US college students get free for a year (Google AI Pro student plan).
Student price (5). The AI Pro student plan is free for a year. Free plan (5). Uploads, answers cited to your sources, the Learning Guide chat style ("Custom chat … available to everyone", per the plans page) and Studio flashcards and quizzes, with no plan limit stated (chat help; Studio help). Learning features (5). Learning Guide (Google for Education: "a new mode that helps you build a deep understanding of your sources instead of just giving quick answers"), quizzes, flashcards, Audio and Video Overviews. Sources (5). Citations are quotes from your own sources. Training (5). Not used to train Gemini Notebook unless you provide feedback (privacy help). Files (5). Up to 200 MB per uploaded file (sources help).
Age. Personal accounts must be "above the age of consent", with stricter content policies for users under 18; Workspace for Education users of all ages can use it when their school enables it.
Best when: you revise from your own course materials and want every answer traced back to a passage in them.
2. Google Gemini 91 / 100
Plans. No plan $0; Google AI Pro $19.99 a month, free for a year for eligible US college students who redeem by 31 December 2026.
Student price (5). A year of AI Pro free, with 4x higher usage limits and 5 TB of storage. Free plan (5). Uploads of up to 10 files per prompt and 100 MB each (upload help), Deep Research with Google Search as a source, Guided Learning for signed-in users (learning tools), and quizzes and flashcards ticked for users without a plan (features by plan). Learning features (5). Guided Learning, quizzes, flashcards and study guides (quizzes and flashcards help). Sources (3). "When sources are available, you can find the Sources button", but "Not all responses include related links or sources" (sources help). Training (4). With Keep Activity off, chats "won't be used to train our AI models", and "Temporary chats are not used to train Google's AI models" (Privacy Hub, updated 23 October 2026). Files (5). 100 MB per file.
Age. The free AI Pro student plan is for students aged 18 and over.
Best when: you want a tutor that asks you questions, practice quizzes and flashcards, and a year of AI Pro at no cost.
3. ChatGPT 83 / 100
Plans. Free; Plus $20 a month, with four free monthly billing periods for eligible US college and graduate students who claim by 31 October 2026 (Back to School offer).
Student price (4; 2 from 1 November). A paid tier free for under 12 months. Free plan (5). Study mode "is available across ChatGPT plans globally" and can "Create practice questions or flashcard-style review" (study mode help); web search is available on Free (search help); uploads are on Free, limited to 3 a day (upload help). Learning features (4). Socratic-style guidance, quizzes and flashcard-style review; no audio overviews or study guides documented. Sources (3). "Responses that use web search may include citations." Training (4). Turn off "Improve the model for everyone"; Temporary chats "are not used to improve OpenAI models" (data controls). Files (5). "Documents and presentations have a maximum size of 512 MB per file."
Age. "You must be at least 13 years old"; under 18 you need a parent's or legal guardian's permission (Terms of Use, effective 1 January 2026).
Best when: you want study mode on any plan, PowerPoint and PDF uploads, and you can claim four free months of Plus by 31 October.
4. Perplexity 80 / 100
Plans. Free; Pro $17 a month billed annually; Education Pro "$10/mo with verification from SheerID" (plans help; Perplexity Pro).
Student price (3). $10 against $17 is 41.2% off. Free plan (3). "Basic file uploads (limited)" and cited search; Learn Mode is counted for verified students only. Learning features (5). Learn Mode explains "step-by-step" and creates "interactive free-response exercises, flashcards, and multiple choice quizzes" (Learn Mode); Spaces create study guides from class materials (Perplexity, students' guide to Spaces). Sources (5). "Every answer includes inline citations from trusted sources". Training (3). "By default, searches may be used to improve our AI. You can opt out anytime in Account Settings"; no training-free chat mode is documented (data collection). Files (5). 40 MB per file in a chat; in Projects, "each file up to 100 MB", on every plan (Projects help).
Age. "You must be 13 years of age or older"; below the age of majority, a parent or guardian must accept the Terms first (Terms, last updated 23 January 2026).
Best when: you research for essays and want a citation on every answer, with Learn Mode for revision at $10 a month.
5. Microsoft Copilot 68 / 100
Plans. Free with a Microsoft account; "Use your college email to save 50% on Microsoft 365 with Copilot included" (Microsoft for students).
Student price (4). 50% off for students. Free plan (3). Uploads in "All Microsoft Copilot experiences" and web search with citations; no study mode or quizzes documented for free use. Learning features (1). The Study and Learn Agent is "available to Education users aged 13+ with a Microsoft 365 Education license (A1, A3, or A5)" (Study and Learn Agent), not documented for consumer plans. Sources (3). With web search, "the output contains hyperlinked citations listed below the text" (transparency note). Training (5). "Prompts, responses, and your file contents when using the Microsoft Copilot app aren't used to train foundation models" (activity history, app updated 18 August 2026). Files (5). "Up to 20 files in a single Copilot conversation", up to 50 MB each, PDF and PPTX included (upload help).
Age. "You must be at least 13 years old to use Copilot", and "If you're under 18, your chats aren't used to train AI models" (Copilot for young people).
Best when: a stated no-training rule matters most, or your school gives you an Education licence with the Study and Learn Agent.
6. Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat) 59 / 100
Plans. Free; Pro $14.99 a month; verified students "$5.99 / month (normally $14.99)", "Valid for a maximum of 12 months" (Mistral pricing).
Student price (4). $5.99 against $14.99 is 60.0% off. Free plan (3). "Limited messages and web searches" and document upload; no study mode or quizzes documented. Learning features (1). None documented. Sources (3). Web answers carry "Inline links pointing back to the original sources" (web search docs). Training (4). Data is used for training by default with an opt-out at any time (Mistral help); "Temporary Chat starts a conversation that isn't saved to your history or used to train our models" (Vibe docs). Files (3). PDF, Word and PowerPoint uploads on all plans; no size limit stated (files docs).
Age. The student price is for students "at accredited higher institutions"; no age rule appeared on the pages opened.
Best when: you want a paid plan for $5.99 a month and web answers that link their sources.
7. Claude 57 / 100
Plans. Free; Pro $17 a month billed annually ($200 up front) or $20 monthly (Claude pricing). Education is "A comprehensive university-wide plan for institutions" (Claude for higher education).
Student price (2). No individual student offer; a free plan exists. Free plan (3). "Search the web, create files, and run code" and uploads. Learning features (1). Learning mode "works like a good tutor" and was introduced as part of Claude for Education (Anthropic, 2 April 2025); the pricing page lists it under Education, not Free or Pro. Sources (3). With web search, "Every response includes citations" (web search help). Training (4). The "Help Improve our AI models" switch under Settings, Privacy (privacy help, 3 August 2026), plus "Incognito chats are not used for training" on every plan (incognito help). Files (5). "Up to 20 files per chat" and 500 MB per file in chat (upload help, 23 July 2026).
Age. "You must be at least 18 years old to use our services" (Get started with Claude, 16 September 2026).
Best when: you are 18 or over and work through many long files at once, or your university already provides Claude for Education.
Best AI for studying: study mode vs Guided Learning vs Learn Mode
The best AI for studying for exams is a tool with a tutoring mode that asks you questions before it gives answers: ChatGPT's study mode (every plan), Gemini's Guided Learning (signed-in users) and Gemini Notebook's Learning Guide are documented for free use; Perplexity's Learn Mode is for verified students. All four can quiz you.
| Mode | Tool | Who gets it | What the vendor says it does |
|---|---|---|---|
| Study mode | ChatGPT | "available across ChatGPT plans globally" | Asks questions, guides your thinking, explains step by step and checks understanding; practice questions and flashcard-style review |
| Guided Learning | Google Gemini | Signed-in users; released gradually in the mobile app | Uses Gemini "as a tutor"; practice questions "with feedback and hints" |
| Learning Guide | Gemini Notebook | No plan limit stated | "Best for educational content", grounded in your uploaded sources |
| Learn Mode | Perplexity | Verified students (Education Pro) | Explains "step-by-step"; free-response exercises, flashcards and multiple-choice quizzes |
| Learning mode | Claude | Claude for Education (institutions) | "asks questions that help you find the answers yourself" |
| Study and Learn Agent | Microsoft Copilot | Microsoft 365 Education licences A1, A3, A5; ages 13+ | Scaffolded chat with flashcards, quizzes, matching and fill-in-the-blank exercises |
Upload your notes and say your level and exam date. OpenAI's help page adds that study mode "can make mistakes".
Can AI make flashcards and quizzes from your notes?
Yes. Gemini Notebook builds flashcards and quizzes "based exclusively on the sources you upload"; Gemini creates quizzes, flashcards, study guides and practice tests for the SAT, JEE Main and NEET UG; ChatGPT's study mode quizzes you one question at a time; Perplexity's Learn Mode generates flashcards and quizzes from your course notes. For note-taking and revision from your own material, Gemini Notebook is the tool built for it.
The best AI for research papers and citations
For research papers, pick a tool whose sources you can open: Perplexity states that every answer includes inline citations, and Gemini Notebook cites passages from the papers you upload. ChatGPT, Gemini, Copilot, Mistral Vibe and Claude show citations when they search the web. A citation is a starting point, not proof: open it and read the passage before you quote it.
- Collect the papers yourself. Upload the PDFs on your reading list to Gemini Notebook, so answers come from those sources.
- Search with citations. Use Perplexity or a web-search answer to find more papers, then open every link and check the year, the journal and the claim.
- Check every reference exists. Assistants can make up a plausible citation; our guide to AI hallucinations shows how to check one.
For a seminar on a single paper, our journal club presentation guide gives an appraisal checklist that works with any of these tools.
Which AI tools train on your coursework
Gemini Notebook and Microsoft Copilot state that personal users' content is not used for training by default. Gemini, ChatGPT, Claude and Mistral Vibe let you switch training off and offer a chat mode that is excluded from training; Perplexity offers an opt-out only. Check the switch before you upload an essay draft or unpublished research.
| Tool | By default | The switch to check | No-training chat | S5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini Notebook | Not used for training unless you give feedback | None needed | — | 5 |
| Microsoft Copilot | The new app does not train foundation models on prompts, responses or files | None needed | — | 5 |
| Google Gemini | Activity is used for training while Keep Activity is on | Keep Activity off | Temporary chats | 4 |
| ChatGPT | Data sharing is on by default on Free, Plus and Pro | Improve the model for everyone off | Temporary chat | 4 |
| Claude | Training follows the privacy switch | Help Improve our AI models off (Settings, Privacy) | Incognito chats | 4 |
| Mistral Vibe | Used for training by default | Opt out at any time | Temporary Chat | 4 |
| Perplexity | "AI Data Retention is enabled by default" | AI data retention off (Account settings, Preferences) | None documented | 3 |
Two details matter for students. Opting out on Perplexity applies only to data collected after you switch it off. A school account can follow different rules: Gemini Notebook says Workspace for Education uploads "will not be used to train AI models". The full retention periods for each assistant are in our guide to whether ChatGPT trains on your data.
Age rules: 13+ vs 18+
ChatGPT, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot allow users aged 13 and over, with a parent's permission or acceptance for minors on ChatGPT and Perplexity; Claude requires users to be 18 or over, and Google's free AI Pro student plan is for students aged 18 and over. High-school students should check the age rule before they sign up.
| Tool | Minimum age | Under 18 | Source (date) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | 13 | A parent's or legal guardian's permission | OpenAI Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026) |
| Perplexity | 13 | A parent or guardian accepts the Terms before use | Perplexity Terms (23 January 2026) |
| Microsoft Copilot | 13, higher in some countries | Chats are not used to train AI models | Copilot for young people (checked 24 October 2026) |
| Gemini Notebook | Above the age of consent | Stricter content policies; school accounts of all ages when enabled | Gemini Notebook privacy help (checked 24 October 2026) |
| Google AI Pro student plan | 18 | Not eligible | Google AI Pro student page (checked 24 October 2026) |
| Claude | 18 | Not permitted | Claude help, Get started (16 September 2026) |
Khanmigo, a tutor from Khan Academy, asks learners to be 18 or older or to have a parent or guardian sign up for them.
Is using AI for school cheating? Follow your institution's policy
Whether using AI counts as cheating depends on your school's and your instructor's rules for each assignment, so read the course policy before you use any tool for graded work. The vendors say the same: OpenAI's study mode page tells students to "follow the AI-use policies of your school, instructor, or organization".
- Ask before, not after. If the syllabus is silent, email the instructor and keep the reply.
- Keep a record. Note which tool you used and for what; some courses ask for an AI-use statement.
Worked example: one student's year of AI, with and without offers
A student who claims both offers by their deadlines pays $280 for a year of Google AI Pro, ChatGPT Plus and Perplexity, instead of $683.88 at list prices; one who uses only Google's offer pays $0.
| Tool | List price for 12 months | With the student offer | How it is computed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Pro | $239.88 | $0.00 | 12 × $19.99 at list; free for 12 months on the student plan |
| ChatGPT Plus | $240.00 | $160.00 | 12 × $20 at list; 4 free months, then 8 × $20 |
| Perplexity | $204.00 | $120.00 | Pro at $17 a month billed annually, 12 × $17; Education Pro 12 × $10 |
| Total | $683.88 | $280.00 | Saving $683.88 − $280.00 = $403.88, or 59.1% |
The saving as a share: $403.88 ÷ $683.88 = 0.5906, or 59.1%. The cheaper answer is that Amara does not need all three. Gemini and Gemini Notebook both come with the one Google offer, so a year of the top two tools in this ranking costs her $0. She sets two reminders: one to re-verify her eligibility, since Google says it "must be verified each year", and one to cancel or keep each plan before the $19.99 and $20 monthly charges start.

Here are two slides from this article's worked example, as NOXI built them, unedited.


Other tools students use, by job (not scored)
These tools do one job each, so they are listed, not scored.
| Job | Tool | The documented fact (24 October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Writing feedback | Grammarly | The Free plan includes 100 AI prompts a month; Pro is shown at $12 (Grammarly plans). |
| Tutoring for younger learners | Khanmigo | $4 a month or $44 a year for learners in the United States; "Khanmigo never gives you the answer" (Khanmigo for learners). |
| School design work | Canva for Education | "100% free for K-12 (primary and secondary) educators, their students"; "Canva never uses student data to train AI models" (Canva Education). |
If your goal is a presentation: turning notes into slides for class
For a class presentation, start from the study material you already have and turn it into slides; our ranking of presentation makers for students compares ten tools on that job. Among the tools scored here, Gemini Notebook can create slide decks from your sources.
Our pick for turning lecture notes into a designed deck is NOXI, a presentation maker rather than a study assistant. NOXI is free: no card and no watermark, with a monthly allowance of 1,000 credits per account, and a full deck uses about 25. Upload a PDF, Word document or PowerPoint, and NOXI turns it into a structured deck that you can change one slide at a time or all at once in plain language, present full-screen, or download as an editable PowerPoint (.pptx) with real text boxes and embedded fonts, or a PDF.
Outside the US: where to check local student offers
The offers in this ranking are US offers, and both big ones say so: Google's is for "U.S. college students" and OpenAI's for students "enrolled at eligible U.S. degree-granting institutions". Students in India, the UK, Canada and Australia should open each vendor's own page in their country, because the page shown depends on where you are; this page quotes no local prices.
- Google: open the Gemini students page from your country to see your region's offer.
- Perplexity: the Education Pro article names no country limit; verification runs through SheerID.
- Microsoft and Mistral: check the local Microsoft for students page and Mistral pricing, which shows its student price excluding taxes.
Key terms
Build it: turn your lecture notes into a study deck with NOXI
A week of lecture notes becomes a revision deck in one flow: upload the notes to NOXI with Create from file, describe the deck you need, then edit, present or export it. Use these prompts in the brief box after you attach your file.
Turn my attached lecture notes for [Introduction to Microeconomics, weeks 1 to 4] into a [10]-slide revision deck. One idea per slide, an action title on every slide, the key definitions and formulas as I wrote them, and a final slide with the [five] questions most likely to appear in the exam.
Make an [8]-minute class presentation from the attached [journal article] for [my second-year seminar]: the question, the method, three findings with their numbers as reported, one limitation, and two discussion questions. Keep every figure and author name exactly as in the file.
In this deck, cut every slide to at most [20] words of body text, move the detail into the slide I will talk over, and make the last slide a one-sentence summary of the topic.
Step 1 — Create a free NOXI account
Open noxi.ai and create a free account; no card is needed. Uploads need an account.
Step 2 — Choose Create from file on Home
On NOXI's Home screen, choose Create from file and attach your lecture notes: a PDF, Word document or PowerPoint, up to 200 MB per file.
Step 3 — Describe the deck in the brief
Paste Prompt 1 or Prompt 2 with your own course, length and audience, so NOXI knows what the deck is for.
Step 4 — Let NOXI build the deck from your notes
NOXI turns your own material into a structured, designed deck, and you watch each slide being built.
Step 5 — Edit one slide or the whole deck by chat
Ask in plain language for a change to one slide or to every slide, for example with Prompt 3, or edit text directly on the slide.
Step 6 — Present or export
Present full-screen from NOXI, share a view-only link with your study group, or download an editable PowerPoint (.pptx) with real text boxes and embedded fonts, or a PDF.
For a final-year talk, the same flow works with our outlines for a thesis defense presentation.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the best AI tool for students?
- On six documented criteria checked on 24 October 2026, Gemini Notebook scores 100 of 100 and Google Gemini 91, followed by ChatGPT at 83 and Perplexity at 80. The score counts student offers, free study features, learning tools, citations, training rules and file limits. It does not measure answer quality, which no vendor documents.
- What is the best free AI for students?
- Google's AI Pro student plan is the strongest free offer: a year at no cost for eligible US college students aged 18 and over who redeem by 31 December 2026, covering Gemini and Gemini Notebook. Without any offer, Gemini Notebook, Gemini and ChatGPT document all four free study features this ranking counts.
- Is ChatGPT Plus free for students?
- Yes, until the deadline. OpenAI's Back to School offer gives eligible US college and graduate students four free monthly billing periods of ChatGPT Plus if they claim by 31 October 2026, after SheerID verification and with a payment method. Plus then renews at $20 a month unless cancelled. Study mode stays on every plan.
- Is Gemini Pro free for students?
- Google AI Pro, the plan that unlocks Gemini's higher limits, is free for one year for eligible US college students aged 18 and over who redeem by 31 December 2026. Eligibility must be verified each year, and the plan charges $19.99 a month after the free year unless you cancel earlier.
- What happened to NotebookLM?
- NotebookLM was renamed Gemini Notebook in July 2026. Google's FAQ says it is the same product and that existing notebooks remain fully accessible. It still answers from your uploaded sources with citations, and creates flashcards, quizzes, Audio and Video Overviews and reports. Personal accounts' data is not used for training unless you give feedback.
- Is there a Claude student discount?
- No individual Claude student discount appeared on Anthropic's pages on 24 October 2026. Claude's education offer is a university-wide plan bought by institutions, which then give access to their students. Individuals can use the Free plan or Pro at $17 a month billed annually. Claude also requires users to be 18 or older.
- Is Perplexity free for students?
- Perplexity has a free plan for everyone, with basic searches and limited file uploads. Verified students and educators can get Education Pro for $10 a month through SheerID verification; it includes everything in Pro, including Learn Mode, which creates flashcards and quizzes. Perplexity requires users to be 13 or older.
- Which AI tools don't train on my coursework?
- Gemini Notebook says personal users' data is not used for training unless you send feedback, and Microsoft says the new Copilot app does not train foundation models on prompts, responses or files. Gemini, ChatGPT, Claude and Mistral Vibe train by default but offer an off switch and a no-training chat mode.
- How old do you have to be to use ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini?
- ChatGPT requires users to be at least 13, with a parent's or guardian's permission under 18. Claude requires users to be 18 or older. Google's free AI Pro student plan is for students aged 18 and over, and Gemini Notebook requires personal users to be above the age of consent in their country.
- Which AI can turn my notes into a presentation?
- Gemini Notebook can create slide decks from your uploaded sources. For a designed, editable deck, a presentation maker such as NOXI turns a PDF, Word or PowerPoint file of notes into slides you can edit by chat and download as an editable PowerPoint or PDF, free with a monthly credit allowance.
Sources & methodology
Every vendor page below was opened on 24 October 2026, logged out; each rating's page is also linked in the tool's card. Amara Okoye is a fictional example.
- [1] Teens' chatbot use (64% use chatbots; 54% for schoolwork help) — Pew Research Center, How Teens Use and View AI (24 February 2026; survey of 1,458 US teens, 25 September–9 October 2025); checked 24 October 2026.
- [2] Google AI Pro student plan (free year, 18+, redeem by 31 December 2026, $19.99 after) — Google, Gemini free student plan (US); checked 24 October 2026.
- [3] ChatGPT Plus student offer (four free months, claim by 31 October 2026, $20 after) — OpenAI Help Center, ChatGPT Back to School offer for students; checked 24 October 2026.
- [4] Perplexity — Perplexity Help, plans and Education Pro price; What is Education Pro; Perplexity Pro (prices, citations, training FAQ); What is Learn Mode; A student's guide to using Perplexity Spaces; File uploads; What are Projects; Data collection at Perplexity; Terms of Service (last updated 23 January 2026); checked 24 October 2026.
- [5] Mistral Vibe — Mistral AI pricing (student price, free plan); Mistral docs, Vibe; Search the web; Files and Canvas; Mistral Help, training data; checked 24 October 2026.
- [6] Gemini Notebook — Google, Gemini Notebook (FAQ on the rename); Gemini Notebook Help, limits; sources; chat and citations; Studio outputs; flashcards and quizzes; privacy; Google for Education, Gemini Notebook; checked 24 October 2026.
- [7] Google Gemini — Gemini Apps Help, learning tools; quizzes, flashcards and practice tests; features by plan; uploads; sources; Deep Research; Privacy Hub (updated 23 October 2026); Google, Guided Learning in Gemini (6 August 2025); checked 24 October 2026.
- [8] ChatGPT — OpenAI Help, using study mode; uploading files; searching the web; data controls; OpenAI Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026); checked 24 October 2026.
- [9] Microsoft Copilot — Microsoft Education, offers for students; file upload; transparency note (18 August 2026); activity history; Copilot for young people; Study and Learn Agent; FAQ on retired Copilot features (Learn Live); checked 24 October 2026.
- [10] Claude — Claude pricing; Claude for higher education; Anthropic, Introducing Claude for Education (2 April 2025); Claude Help, uploading files (23 July 2026); Get started with Claude (16 September 2026); web search; privacy settings (3 August 2026); incognito chats; checked 24 October 2026.
- [11] Other tools — Grammarly plans; Khanmigo for learners; Canva Education; checked 24 October 2026.
Claim the offer your student status unlocks before its deadline, study from sources you can check, then turn your notes into slides for class: NOXI is free and downloads an editable PowerPoint.



