NOXI

Claude Design: what it is, whether it's free, how to use it, what it exports, and how it compares with Figma Make, Google Stitch and Canva

Claude Design in five dates, plans and usage limits (Free included), a tutorial, desktop, Claude Code and mobile, every export format and what the PowerPoint file keeps, design systems, an unscored comparison with Figma Make, Stitch and Canva AI, and a checklist for leaving claude.ai/design.

Listen to article 2:26 Try NOXI free
Claude Design guide cover: Anthropic's design tool now inside every Claude chat and on every plan, with export formats, a tutorial and the 14 December 2026 deadline for claude.ai/design

Disclosure: NOXI publishes this guide and appears in its presentation section; every fact about Anthropic's product comes from Anthropic's own pricing page, product page and help centre, checked on 24 October 2026.

Quick answer: Claude Design is Anthropic's tool for making designs, prototypes, slides and one-pagers with Claude. Since 16 September 2026 it works inside any Claude conversation, and Anthropic says it is included in every plan, including Free. It exports to PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides, HTML and Canva. The standalone site, claude.ai/design, closes on 14 December 2026.

Most pages that rank for Claude Design still describe its first week: a research preview for paying subscribers, on a separate site. That stopped being true in September. The rule this guide is built on: Claude Design now lives inside Claude itself, on every plan including Free. Ask for a design, a deck or a one-pager in any chat, export it to PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides or Canva, and move anything still on claude.ai/design before 14 December 2026.

In short

  • WhatAn Anthropic Labs product for "polished visual work": designs, prototypes, slides and short documents, made by chatting with Claude and editing on a canvas.
  • PriceIncluded in Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise. It counts toward your plan's usage limits; Pro is $20 billed monthly or $17 a month billed annually.
  • WhereAny Claude chat, the Artifacts tab and Claude Code. On the iOS and Android apps you can ask for a design, but you change sharing settings on the web or desktop.
  • Export.zip, PDF, PPTX, Google Slides and standalone HTML, plus Canva and a handoff to Claude Code. Figma is an input for design systems, not an export.
  • Deadlineclaude.ai/design closes on 14 December 2026 and becomes read-only; chats and comments there do not move with your projects.

Key numbers

17 Apr
Claude Design launched from Anthropic Labs on 17 April 2026, as a research preview for Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise [1]
16 Sep
Claude Design moved into regular Claude conversations on 16 September 2026, alongside Claude Slides and Claude Docs [4]
$0
Claude's Free plan lists "Claude Design, Slides, Docs" on Anthropic's pricing page, checked 24 October 2026 [3]
14 Dec
The standalone site claude.ai/design closes on 14 December 2026; after that it is read-only [7]
8
Partner tools Anthropic lists Claude Design as connecting with: Adobe, Canva, Gamma, Lovable, Miro, Replit, Vercel and Wix (October 2026) [2]
5
Options in Claude Design's Export menu: .zip, PDF, PPTX, Google Slides and standalone HTML, per Claude's help centre in October 2026 [5]

What is Claude Design? Anthropic's design tool in plain words

Claude Design is a way to make visual work by talking to Claude: you describe a screen, a slide deck, a landing page or a one-pager, Claude builds a first version on a canvas, and you refine it by chat, by comments pinned to parts of the design, or by editing it directly. Anthropic's launch post calls it "a new Anthropic Labs product that lets you collaborate with Claude to create polished visual work" [1].

Definition What is Claude Design? Claude Design is an Anthropic Labs product, launched on 17 April 2026, for creating designs, prototypes, slides and one-pagers with Claude. You describe what you want, Claude builds it on a canvas using your design system if you have one, and you refine it through chat, inline comments and direct edits, then share or export it.

Three things set it apart from a general chat that writes some HTML:

  • A canvas you can touch. Claude's help centre describes "rich layout controls" to "drag, resize, and align elements directly", alongside chat for broad changes and inline comments for targeted ones [5].
  • Your brand, applied automatically. A design system holds your colours, typography, components and layout patterns, and Claude uses it in new work [6]. The launch post says Claude builds one for your team "by reading your codebase and design files" [1].
  • Files that leave Claude. Work exports to PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides and HTML, goes to Canva, or travels to Claude Code as a handoff for building [5].

What is Claude Design used for, and who is it for?

Claude Design is used for first drafts of anything visual that a team needs to react to: app screens and clickable flows, marketing one-pagers, social and campaign assets, mockups and slide decks. Anthropic's product page lists asset creation, one-pagers and mockups as use cases and promises to "turn a rough idea into a clickable flow your team can react to, before anyone writes a spec" [2].

It suits founders and product managers who need a prototype before a designer is free, marketers who need on-brand assets quickly, and designers who want to try several directions first. It is not a replacement for a production design file with version history and robust multiplayer editing: the help centre says both of those are still missing or basic (see Limits and known gaps) [5].

Claude Design, Claude Slides and Claude Docs: how the names fit

Since 16 September 2026 Anthropic has grouped three templates under "artifacts": Claude Design for visual work, Claude Slides for presentations and Claude Docs for "living documents" [4][8]. They share one entry point: in any chat you can "select Output > Design in the message box" or pick a template in the Artifacts tab [5]. Two newer artifact types sit next to them on the product page: Claude Dashboards, "in beta on paid plans", and Claude Motion, "in beta on Team and Enterprise plans" [2].

Claude Design in five dates: from research preview to every plan

Claude Design went from a paid research preview on its own site in April 2026 to a feature of every Claude plan, inside ordinary conversations, five months later; the separate site closes on 14 December 2026. These are the five dates that matter, each from an Anthropic page.

DateWhat happenedSource
17 Apr 2026Anthropic Labs launches Claude Design as a research preview for Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise subscribers, on claude.ai/design; off by default for Enterprise organisationsAnthropic news [1]; release notes [4]
16 Sep 2026"Create designs, decks, and docs in any conversation": Claude Design moves into regular chats "with all of its features", and artifacts including Claude Design, Slides and Docs become "available on every plan, including Free"Release notes [4]
15 Oct 2026Claude Design, Slides and Docs turn on by default for Enterprise organisations (Anthropic lists one exception)Product page [2]; help centre [5]
24 Oct 2026Our check: the Free plan lists "Claude Design, Slides, Docs", and the product page says they "are included within every plan, including the Free plan"Pricing [3]; product page [2]
14 Dec 2026The standalone site claude.ai/design closes: read-only, no new projects, public links stop workingHelp centre [7]
Timeline of Claude Design in five dates from Anthropic's pages: launched as a research preview for paid plans on 17 April 2026; moved into every Claude conversation and onto every plan including Free on 16 September 2026; on by default for Enterprise on 15 October 2026; still listed on the Free plan when checked on 24 October 2026; the standalone site claude.ai/design closes and becomes read-only on 14 December 2026.
Five months from a paid preview to every plan: any page that still says "Pro and up" describes April, not today.

Is Claude Design free? Plans, pricing and usage limits

Yes. Claude Design is included in Claude's Free plan as well as Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, as of 24 October 2026 [2][3]. What you pay for on a paid plan is more room: every design counts toward your plan's usage limits, and design systems (your saved brand) are a beta for paid plans only [5][6].

Anthropic's product page puts it in one sentence: "Claude Design, Claude Slides, and Claude Docs are included within every plan, including the Free plan" [2]. The pricing page agrees: the Free column lists "Claude Design, Slides, Docs" and the comparison table marks all three "Yes" on every plan [3].

PlanPrice (USD, checked 24 Oct 2026)Claude DesignDesign systems
Free$0IncludedNot included (the beta is for paid plans)
Pro$20 billed monthly, or $17 a month billed annually ($200 up front)IncludedBeta, on by default
MaxFrom $100 a month, billed monthlyIncludedBeta, on by default
TeamStandard seat $25 a month, or $20 billed annually; Premium seat $125, or $100 billed annuallyIncludedBeta, on by default
EnterpriseUS$20 per seat a month, billed annually, 20-seat minimum; usage billed separatelyIncluded; on by default from 15 Oct 2026Beta, off until an owner turns it on

Prices are Anthropic's own and "don't include applicable tax" [3]. Design-system availability comes from the design-systems help article [6].

Do I need Claude Pro for Claude Design?

No. You can start a design, a deck or a one-pager on the Free plan [3][8]. Pro becomes worth it when you hit the usage limit regularly, when you want a saved design system so every output starts on brand [6], or when you want to connect apps to an artifact, which the help centre lists among the things Free does not include (along with Dashboards, Motion and storing data in an artifact) [8].

Claude Design limits: how much can you make?

Anthropic publishes no separate design allowance. The help centre says "Claude Design counts toward the same usage limits as the rest of Claude", and that design activity "draws from the same pool as the rest of your work with Claude, including Claude Code" [5]. The product page adds that "larger requests, like a full deck or design, use more of your limit than a typical message" [2]. When you reach the limit, Claude Design is unavailable until the limit resets, unless you have turned on usage credits [5].

Pages that describe a separate weekly design allowance conflict with Anthropic's wording, which describes one shared pool.

Is Claude Design free for students?

Students use the same Free plan as everyone else: the pages we opened on 24 October 2026 list no separate student price or allowance for Claude Design [2][3].

How to use Claude Design: step by step

To use Claude Design, open any Claude chat, choose Output > Design (or a Design template in the Artifacts tab), describe what you want, then refine the result on the canvas and export or share it. The help centre's own flow has seven steps [5]:

  1. Start a design from a conversation or the Artifacts tab.
  2. Attach or import the design system you want Claude to build with (paid plans).
  3. Add context: screenshots, a codebase, a brief, a competitor page.
  4. Describe what you want to build.
  5. Review what Claude generates on the canvas.
  6. Refine through chat, edit directly on the canvas, or leave inline comments.
  7. Export or share when you are happy with the result.

Three ways to refine, and when each is fastest [5]:

MethodUse it forExample
Chat"Broad changes that affect the overall design""Make the whole page calmer: fewer colours, more white space"
Inline commentA targeted change to one part of the canvasClick the pricing card: "Show annual and monthly prices side by side"
Direct editQuick visual shifts: drag, resize and align elementsDrag the hero image above the headline and resize it to full width

Sharing: "Designs start private to you." Click Share to choose who can open a design and whether they can view, comment on or edit it [5]. Claude Design "doesn't have version history yet", so before you try a different direction, ask Claude to save the current work; it "will save your current project and confirm where it's saved" [5].

A ten-minute Claude Design tutorial: your first one-pager

The quickest way to learn Claude Design is one real one-pager in four rounds, each using a different refinement method:

  1. Minute 0–2, the brief. Choose Output > Design and paste the page's purpose, its reader, five facts it must carry and one reference screenshot.
  2. Minute 2–5, the first version. Read it as the reader would and note the three biggest problems.
  3. Minute 5–8, three fixes. One chat message for the overall feel, one inline comment for the weakest block, one direct edit to move or resize something.
  4. Minute 8–10, ship it. Export a PDF or share a view link, and ask Claude to save the project before a second direction.

Claude Design examples and prompts that work

The prompts that work best in Claude Design name the format, the audience, the content that must appear and one constraint. These four cover the jobs people search for most:

JobPrompt to pasteWhat to check
Landing page"Design a landing page for [product] aimed at [audience]: hero with one promise, three benefits, a pricing block with [prices], and one call to action. Use the attached screenshot as the style."Prices exactly as you gave them; one call to action, not three
App flow"Make a clickable 4-screen onboarding flow for [app]: welcome, permissions, first task, success. Mobile size."Every button leads somewhere; the back path works
One-pager"A one-page A4 product sheet for [product] with these five facts: [facts]. Print-friendly, our colours [hex codes]."Readable when printed in greyscale
Campaign set"Three social posts and one banner announcing [event, date], same headline, sizes for [channels]."Date and headline match across all four

Claude Design on desktop, in Claude Code and on your phone

Claude Design works in Claude on the web and on desktop, inside Claude Code, and in the iOS and Android apps, but the phone apps are for asking and viewing: you change sharing settings on the web or desktop, and placing new layers on the canvas needs a mouse or trackpad [5].

WhereWhat worksDocumented limit
Web and desktopStart from any chat (Output > Design) or the Artifacts tab; refine, share and exportPlacing a new text layer, artboard, shape or note needs a mouse or trackpad
Claude CodeUse it "on desktop or in the terminal"; "/design" imports a design into your codebase or exports your code as a live prototype; "/design-sync" brings in a design system built from React componentsThe help centre suggests linking very large repositories from Claude Code "to avoid lag or browser issues"
iOS and Android"Ask for a design in any conversation and check back later for the result", then view it full screen in the Artifacts tab"It's not possible to change sharing settings" in the mobile apps

The help centre also says you "can move between working in Claude Design and Claude Code while keeping your work synced" [5][6].

Claude Design export: PowerPoint, Google Slides, PDF, HTML, Canva and Claude Code

Claude Design exports from the Export button at the top right of a project: download a .zip, export as PDF, export as PPTX, export to Google Slides or export as standalone HTML; it can also send work to Canva and hand it off to Claude Code [5]. Figma is not on the export list.

DestinationHow it is documentedWhat to know
PowerPoint (.pptx)"Export as PPTX"For decks, Anthropic's Academy says text boxes, tables, pictures and slide backgrounds stay editable, but "Charts, icons and shapes become pictures" and "Slide transitions and skipped slides are left out" [9]
Google Slides"Export to Google Slides"Decks "go straight to Google Slides as editable files" [8]; connect Google Drive first [9]
PDF"Export as PDF"Best for one-pagers and anything you email or print
HTML"Export as standalone HTML"One file you can open in a browser or hand to a developer
.zip"Download as .zip"Every file in the project; when you move off the standalone site, this export "is free and doesn't count toward your usage limits" [7]
CanvaSend to CanvaCanva says drafts "become fully editable, structured designs" you can bring on brand and edit with your team [17]
Claude Code"Handoff to Claude Code": "Send to local coding agent" or "Send to Claude Code Web"The launch post describes a handoff bundle passed to Claude Code "with a single instruction" [1][5]
FigmaNot in the Export menu [5]Figma files are an input: Claude can build a design system from them [6]
Definition What is a Claude Design handoff bundle? A handoff bundle is the package Claude Design prepares when a design is ready to build: the design and what a coding agent needs to implement it, passed to Claude Code with one instruction, either to a local coding agent or to Claude Code on the web.
Export map with Claude Design in the centre and its documented destinations around it: PowerPoint (PPTX), Google Slides, PDF, standalone HTML, a .zip of the whole project, Canva and a handoff to Claude Code. A note says Figma files are an input for design systems, not an export.
Seven destinations out, and one important input: Figma files feed a design system rather than receive a design.

Can you export Claude Design to Figma?

Not as a documented export. The help centre's Export list has no Figma option, and Figma files appear only as a source when Claude builds a design system [5][6]. If your team finishes work in Figma, the documented routes are indirect: export HTML or hand the design to Claude Code and bring the built screens into Figma with Figma's own tools.

Claude Design to Canva: what happens to the file

Sending work to Canva turns a Claude Design draft into a Canva design rather than a picture: Canva's announcement says drafts "become fully editable, structured designs" that can be "customised, brought on-brand, and collaborated on with your team" [17]. That is the route to choose when the final asset lives in Canva anyway, such as a social campaign that a marketing team schedules from there.

Is Claude Design good for presentations? Claude Slides and the PowerPoint export

Claude Design can make presentations, and since September the dedicated starting point inside Claude is Claude Slides: "presentations built from your notes, reports, or the work already in your chat", which you can edit slide by slide, present full screen without leaving Claude, and export to PowerPoint, PDF or Google Slides [8][9].

Definition What is Claude Slides? Claude Slides is the presentation template among Claude's artifacts, available on every plan since 16 September 2026. You ask for a deck in any chat, or pick the Slides template in the Artifacts tab, then edit slides directly, present full screen inside Claude, and export to PowerPoint, PDF or Google Slides.

What the PowerPoint file keeps matters more than how the deck looks in Claude. Anthropic's own Academy tutorial is unusually direct about it [9]:

In the .pptxWhat happensWhat it means for you
Text boxes, tablesStay editableYou can fix wording and numbers in PowerPoint
Pictures, backgroundsStay editableSwap a photo or a background as usual
Notes for presentingCarry over and stay editableYour script travels with the file
Charts, icons, shapes"Become pictures"To change a chart's numbers, change them in Claude and export again
Transitions, skipped slides"Left out"Re-add transitions in PowerPoint; un-skip slides you need

Two more facts from the same tutorial: Claude "can build your deck in your brand's fonts and colors when you have a design system set up in Claude", and "Present plays the deck full screen from inside Claude", with a second window for your notes, a clock and the next slide [9]. For a head-to-head of Claude's decks against Gamma's, see our Claude Slides vs Gamma comparison; for add-ins that work inside your own PowerPoint template, see our ranking of AI add-ins for PowerPoint. Whatever plan you are on, both Claude Design and Claude Slides are included, Free too, as of 24 October 2026 [3][4].

Claude Design design systems: from your codebase, Figma files and decks

A design system in Claude Design is a saved set of your colours, typography, components and layout patterns that Claude applies to every new design; it is a beta on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, on by default except on Enterprise, where an owner turns it on [6].

Definition What is a design system in Claude Design? A design system captures your colours, typography, components and layout patterns. Claude extracts them from what you provide, such as a codebase, Figma files, slide decks, logos and fonts, and then applies them to new designs, decks and one-pagers so each starts on brand.

Where Claude can build one from, per the help centre [6]:

  • Files and apps: "your connected apps, uploaded files, Figma files, decks, logos, and fonts".
  • Code: a linked or uploaded repository; if your system "already exists as React components, run /design-sync in Claude Code".
  • Several systems: the product page says you can "bring in one or several design systems", and "admins can lock a team to a single approved design system" [2].

The honest caveat is Anthropic's own: "Design system import is only as good as its source" [5]. A codebase with three shades of the same blue gives you a design system with three blues. Clean the source first, or tell Claude which tokens are canonical. Moved design systems "may need some cleanup", and one that nobody opens during the retention period "can be permanently deleted" [6].

Claude Design vs Figma Make vs Google Stitch vs Canva AI

Claude Design, Figma Make, Google Stitch and Canva AI all turn a prompt into a design, but they are built for different jobs: Claude Design for on-brand visuals, prototypes and decks inside an assistant; Figma Make for working prototypes and apps next to Figma files; Stitch for UI design that moves into Google's developer tools; and Canva AI for everyday marketing design and presentations.

How this table was made: every cell comes from the vendor's own pages, opened on 24 October 2026; it is a side-by-side of documented facts, unscored on purpose because the four tools do different jobs, and not a new hands-on test. Where a vendor page we opened does not state something, the cell says so.

FactClaude DesignFigma MakeGoogle StitchCanva AI
MakerAnthropic (Anthropic Labs)FigmaGoogle LabsCanva
Launched17 Apr 2026 (preview); in every chat since 16 Sep 2026 [1][4]Generally available 24 Jul 2025 [10]20 May 2025 as a Labs experiment; relaunched as an "AI-native software design canvas" 18 Mar 2026 [15][16]Canva AI 2.0 "available today as a research preview", April 2026 [18]
What it makesDesigns, prototypes, slides and one-pagers [1]"A prompt-to-app tool" for interactive, high-fidelity prototypes [10]UI designs and frontend code from prompts, sketches or screenshots [15]Layered, editable designs, presentations, spreadsheets and Canva Code experiences [18]
Free accessYes, on the Free plan [3]Starter: "a free way to explore Figma Make", 150 AI credits a day, up to 500 a month [11][14]Not stated on the two Google posts we opened [15][16]Free plan: up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month [19]
Cheapest paidClaude Pro, $20 billed monthly or $17 a month billed annually [3]Professional Full seat, $16 a month billed annually, 3,000 AI credits a month [11]Not stated on the pages we openedCanva Pro, US$144 a year for one person, up to 200 Premium AI uses [19]
How use is countedSame usage limits as the rest of Claude [5]Credits; generating an app from scratch costs "approximately 100+ credits" (rates as of 15 Oct 2026) [12]Not stated on the pages we openedAI uses per month [19]
Where work goesPPTX, PDF, Google Slides, HTML, .zip, Canva, Claude Code [5]Export code (Full and Dev seats); copy a preview into Figma Design as layers (paid plans) [13][14]Paste to Figma and front-end code (2025); AI Studio, Antigravity, a DESIGN.md file and an MCP server (2026) [15][16]PPTX for presentations, PDF, DOCX for Canva Docs, images and video [20]
SlidesYes, through Claude Slides [8]Not mentioned on the Make pages we openedNot mentioned on the pages we openedYes, "presentations with interactive elements" [18]
Four cards comparing AI design tools from official pages on 24 October 2026, unscored: Claude Design by Anthropic for designs, prototypes, slides and one-pagers, on every Claude plan including Free; Figma Make for prompt-to-app prototypes, free Starter with 500 AI credits a month and Professional at 16 dollars a month billed annually; Google Stitch from Google Labs for UI designs and frontend code; Canva AI for designs and presentations, free with up to 20 AI uses a month and Canva Pro at 144 US dollars a year.
Four tools, four jobs: pick by where the finished work has to live, not by which demo looked best.

Best when, one line each, resting on the rows above:

  • Claude Design is best when you already work in Claude and the output is a deck, a one-pager or a prototype that must leave as PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides or code.
  • Figma Make is best when the design team lives in Figma and you want a working prototype whose preview can come back into Figma Design as layers.
  • Google Stitch is best when the next step is code in Google's developer tools, with design rules carried in a DESIGN.md file.
  • Canva AI is best when the finished asset is published, scheduled or printed from Canva, by a team already using it.

Claude Design vs Figma: which should a designer use?

For a designer the choice is about the file of record. Figma remains home to production files and libraries, and Figma Make adds prompt-to-app prototyping there, metered in credits [10][12]. Claude Design is built for exploring directions in conversation and for work that must end up as a deck, a one-pager or code, but it has no version history yet and calls simultaneous editing "still basic" [5]. Many teams will use both: Claude Design to explore, Figma to finish.

Claude Design vs Google Stitch

Both target UI design, and both talk to coding tools. Stitch's documented path is into Google's developer tools, AI Studio and Antigravity, with a DESIGN.md file that carries design rules between design and coding tools [16]; Claude Design's path is into Claude Code, with "/design" and "/design-sync" [5][6]. Choose by where your code is built. Google's posts we opened state no price or limits for Stitch.

Claude Design vs Canva

They work together more than they compete: Canva is one of the eight partner tools Anthropic lists [2]. Canva AI is the natural home for a team that already publishes from Canva; Claude Design suits people who start in a Claude conversation and send finished drafts to Canva [17].

Claude Design integrations: Canva, Gamma, Adobe and the other connections

Anthropic lists eight partner tools for Claude Design: "Claude Design connects with Adobe, Canva, Gamma, Lovable, Miro, Replit, Vercel, and Wix" [2]. Beyond those, it can use your connected apps as context for a design system [6], and the product page says you can "send to the apps you already use daily" [2].

Connections run through Claude's connectors, the layer built on the Model Context Protocol (MCP); our guide to Claude connectors and MCP explains how to add one and what to check first. One plan detail matters here: Claude's help centre lists "connecting apps to an artifact" among the things the Free plan does not include [8]. So on Free you can make and export designs; linking a design to a live app needs a paid plan.

Moving off claude.ai/design before 14 December 2026

The standalone Claude Design site at claude.ai/design closes on 14 December 2026: after that it is read-only, you cannot start new projects there, public links stop working, and chats and comments are "deleted some time after it closes" [7]. Projects themselves can move into Claude, where each becomes an artifact; chats and comments cannot.

The move, as the help centre describes it [7]: open the project at claude.ai/design (only the project's owner can move it), start the review from the pop-up or banner, confirm, and keep the tab open until it finishes. The project then appears on the Artifacts page in Claude. Team design systems move from the Artifacts page with "Move team design systems". Separately, you can download each project as a .zip: keep "Project archive" selected and click Export; it is "free and doesn't count toward your usage limits".

  1. List every project you own on claude.ai/design.Pass: a written count, with an owner next to each project.
  2. Copy the decisions you need from chats and comments.Pass: key threads pasted into a doc; they do not move with the project.
  3. Download a .zip of each project.Pass: one archive per project saved outside Claude; it costs no usage.
  4. Move each project into Claude.Pass: every project opens from the Artifacts page.
  5. Move and open your team design systems.Pass: each one opened at least once after the move and cleaned up.
  6. Replace public links.Pass: no shared document points to a claude.ai/design link.
  7. Finish with a buffer.Pass: all of the above done by 1 December 2026, 13 days before closing.

Claude Design limits and known gaps

Anthropic lists its own known limitations for Claude Design, and the four that change how you work are: no version history yet, basic simultaneous editing, no sharing changes in the mobile apps, and design systems that are only as good as their source [5].

GapAnthropic's wordingWorkaround
Versions"Claude Design doesn't have version history yet"Ask Claude to save the project before each new direction
Co-editingTwo or more people editing at once "is still basic and may not work reliably"One editor at a time; others comment
Mobile sharing"Not possible to change sharing settings" in the iOS and Android appsChange sharing on the web or desktop
CommentsInline comments "occasionally don't appear on the page"Open the comments view
Big repositoriesLink very large repositories from Claude Code "to avoid lag or browser issues"Use /design-sync from Claude Code
Usage"Unavailable until your limits reset" when you reach themTurn on usage credits, or plan big decks after a reset

Worked example: one product manager's move and design budget

A worked example shows the deadline and the cost in numbers. Example Jonas Weber and Northline Apps are fictional; every rule and price comes from the official pages cited above.

Example Jonas Weber, a product manager at Northline Apps, has 9 projects on claude.ai/design and also prototypes in Figma Make. On 3 November 2026 he plans the move. The archive: 9 projects × 1 .zip each = 9 exports, and because these exports are free and don't count toward usage limits, 0 usage spent. What does not move: chats and comments, so he copies the 3 comment threads that hold design decisions into a shared doc first. The schedule: from 3 November to his own deadline of 1 December is 28 days, or 4 weeks; moving 3 projects a week finishes the 9 in 3 weeks (3 × 3 = 9) and leaves the 4th week as a buffer; 1 December is 13 days before the site closes on 14 December. Figma Make headroom: his Professional Full seat includes 3,000 AI credits a month, and an app from scratch costs about 100 or more, so 3,000 ÷ 100 = at most about 30 app generations a month. On Starter it would be 500 ÷ 100 = about 5 a month, and the daily limit of 150 credits allows one full generation a day (150 ÷ 100 = 1.5, rounded down to 1). The yearly cost of both tools: Claude Pro billed annually, $200, plus Figma Professional, 12 × $16 = $192, totals $392 before tax. Paying Claude monthly instead costs 12 × $20 = $240, so the total would be $240 + $192 = $432, which is $40 more. If Claude's Free usage limits cover his design work, Claude Free plus Figma Professional costs $0 + $192 = $192.

Here are two slides from this article's worked example, as NOXI built them, unedited.

NOXI slide: each Claude Design export has one job in the team, PowerPoint for stakeholder decks with charts, icons and shapes arriving as pictures, Google Slides for decks the sales team edits, PDF for one-pagers, handoff to Claude Code for screens, and a .zip archive as the backup of every project.
The formats slide: what each Claude Design export is for, and what changes in the PowerPoint file.
NOXI slide: annual cost per person, Claude Pro on annual billing $200 plus Figma Professional 12 × $16 = $192 makes $392, Claude Pro billed monthly makes $432, Claude Free plus Figma Professional makes $192; annual billing saves $432 − $392 = $40.
The worked example: what keeping both tools costs a year per person, from US list prices on 24 October 2026.

If your goal is a presentation: four routes side by side

If what you need at the end is a deck, four routes are worth knowing: Claude Slides inside Claude, Gamma, Canva and NOXI. This table is unscored and built from each vendor's own pages, checked on 24 October 2026.

RouteStarts fromFree accessFiles outBest when
Claude SlidesYour notes, reports or the work already in a chat [8]Every plan, including Free [3]PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides as editable files [8]The thinking already happened in a Claude chat
GammaA prompt in Gamma, or Claude Design work through the Gamma connection Anthropic lists [2]Free plan; a "Made by Gamma" badge on its PDF and PPTX exports [21]PDF, PNG, PowerPoint; Google Slides via PPTX upload [21]You also want PNG files or a direct LinkedIn post from the same deck [21]
CanvaA prompt, a template or a Claude Design draft [17][18]Up to 20 AI uses a month [19]PPTX for presentations, PDF [20]The rest of your brand's assets already live in Canva
NOXIA prompt, a file or a finished deckFree: 1,000 credits a month, about 25 per deckEditable PowerPoint (.pptx) with real text boxes and embedded fonts; PDFAn existing deck has to look designed and stay editable

Our pick for turning an exported .pptx into a designed, editable PowerPoint is NOXI, through its Beautify my deck action. The steps are below. For the wider field, see our scored list of AI tools that make a PowerPoint look better, our comparison of presentation work in Claude and our guide to moving Canva designs into PowerPoint.

3 prompts for the deck after you export it

Paste one of these into the NOXI chat box, with your exported file attached where the prompt says so.

Prompt 1 · Redesign an exported deck

Redesign the attached [12]-slide deck. Keep every slide's text, numbers and order exactly as they are. Use [our brand colour #1F4E79] for headings and accents, one idea per slide, generous white space, and make the title of every slide a full-sentence finding.

Prompt 2 · A migration briefing for your team

Create an 8-slide presentation for [our product team] titled "Moving our designs before 14 December". Slides: 1 title and date [3 November 2026]; 2 what changed on 16 September 2026; 3 the deadline, 14 December 2026, and what becomes read-only; 4 what does not move (chats and comments); 5 how we move [9] projects as .zip archives; 6 the formats we use for each job; 7 our cost for the year [numbers]; 8 owners and dates. Every number with its unit.

Prompt 3 · A follow-up edit, then the files

On slide [5], turn the list into a three-column table with the columns Project, Owner and Date moved. Make slide [7] a chart of [our yearly cost by tool, in US dollars]. Then export the deck as PowerPoint and PDF.

Build it in NOXI: redesign the exported PowerPoint

One flow, Beautify my deck: you bring the .pptx you exported, and you get back a redesigned deck with the same content.

Step 1: Export your deck as PowerPoint

In Claude, open the deck or design, click Export in the upper right and choose Export as PPTX. Save the file where you can find it.

Step 2: Sign in to NOXI with a free account

Open noxi.ai and sign in or create a free account; uploading a file needs one. There is no card, and each account gets 1,000 credits a month.

Step 3: Choose Beautify my deck and attach the file

On the NOXI Home screen, choose Beautify my deck and upload your .pptx. Add a short note on tone or brand colour, or paste Prompt 1.

Step 4: Review the redesigned deck

NOXI keeps every slide's content, the slide count and order, the facts and the numbers, and improves layout, hierarchy, typography, spacing, colour and imagery. Watch each slide being built, then read the deck once against your original.

Step 5: Edit one slide or the whole deck by chat

Ask for changes in plain language, for one slide or all of them, or click any element and tell the AI what to change. You can also edit text right on the slide and edit chart numbers inside NOXI.

Step 6: Export, present or share

Download an editable PowerPoint (.pptx) with real text boxes and embedded fonts, or a PDF, free and with no watermark. Or present full-screen straight from NOXI, or share a view-only link.

Related What is Claude? Apps, plans and uses, for the assistant itself · 15 rules that make a presentation look professional, for checking any exported deck

Frequently asked questions

What is Claude Design?
Claude Design is an Anthropic Labs product for making designs, prototypes, slides and one-pagers with Claude. You describe what you want, Claude builds it on a canvas, and you refine it by chat, inline comments or direct edits. It launched on 17 April 2026 and has worked inside any Claude conversation since 16 September 2026.
Is Claude Design free?
Yes. As of 24 October 2026, Anthropic says Claude Design is included in every plan, including Free, and the pricing page lists "Claude Design, Slides, Docs" under Free. It counts toward your plan's usage limits, so a big deck uses more of your allowance than a message. Design systems remain a beta on paid plans.
Do I need Claude Pro for Claude Design?
No. The Free plan includes Claude Design, Claude Slides and Claude Docs. Pro, at $20 billed monthly or $17 a month billed annually, gives more usage, saved design systems and the ability to connect apps to an artifact, which Claude's help centre lists as not included on Free. Choose Pro when Free limits slow you down.
How do I use Claude Design?
Open any Claude chat and choose Output, then Design, or pick a Design template in the Artifacts tab. Add context such as screenshots or a codebase, describe what you want, and review the canvas. Refine by chat for broad changes, inline comments for one element, or direct edits to drag and resize, then export or share.
Can Claude Design export to PowerPoint?
Yes. The Export menu includes Export as PPTX, alongside PDF, Google Slides, standalone HTML and a .zip. For decks, Anthropic's Academy says text boxes, tables, pictures and backgrounds stay editable in PowerPoint, while charts, icons and shapes become pictures, and slide transitions and skipped slides are left out of the file.
Can I export Claude Design to Figma?
Not directly. Claude's help centre lists .zip, PDF, PPTX, Google Slides, standalone HTML, Canva and a Claude Code handoff, but no Figma export. Figma files work the other way, as a source Claude can build your design system from. To reach Figma, export HTML or build the screens through Claude Code first.
What happens to claude.ai/design on 14 December?
The standalone site closes on 14 December 2026 and becomes read-only: you cannot start new projects, public links stop working, and chats and comments are deleted some time afterwards. Projects can move into Claude as artifacts, and a .zip export of each project is free and does not count toward your usage limits.
Is Claude Design better than Figma?
They do different jobs. Claude Design is built for exploring directions in conversation and for decks or one-pagers that leave as PowerPoint, PDF or code. Figma remains the place for production files and libraries, and Figma Make adds prompt-to-app prototypes metered in credits. Claude Design has no version history yet, so many teams explore in Claude, then finish in Figma.
Does Claude Design work on my phone?
Partly. In the Claude app for iOS and Android you can ask for a design in any conversation, check back later for the result and view it full screen in the Artifacts tab. You cannot change sharing settings in the mobile apps; do that on the web or desktop. Placing new canvas layers needs a mouse or trackpad.
Can Claude Design make presentations?
Yes. Inside Claude the presentation template is Claude Slides, available on every plan: ask for a deck in any chat, edit slides directly, present full screen inside Claude and export to PowerPoint, PDF or Google Slides. With a design system set up on a paid plan, Claude builds the deck in your brand's fonts and colours.

Sources & methodology

How this guide was made: every fact about Claude Design, Figma Make, Google Stitch, Canva and Gamma comes from the vendor's own product page, pricing page, help centre, blog or newsroom, opened on 24 October 2026; Figma's pricing was read from the page's own billing toggle (annual selected). The side-by-side tables are unscored and are not a new hands-on test. The checklist, tutorial and prompt table are editorial recommendations. Jonas Weber and Northline Apps are fictional, and every calculation was checked twice. All sources were checked on 24 October 2026.

  • [1] Launch on 17 April 2026; "a new Anthropic Labs product that lets you collaborate with Claude to create polished visual work"; research preview for Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise; off by default for Enterprise; export to Canva, PDF, PPTX or standalone HTML; handoff bundle to Claude Code; design systems built from a team's codebase and design files — Anthropic, Introducing Claude Design by Anthropic Labs (17 April 2026).
  • [2] "Included within every plan, including the Free plan"; on by default for Enterprise on 15 October 2026; claude.ai/design open until 14 December 2026; artifacts count toward your plan's usage limits and larger requests use more; export to PPTX, PDF or HTML and send to other apps; connects with Adobe, Canva, Gamma, Lovable, Miro, Replit, Vercel and Wix; design systems from GitHub, design files or a local codebase; admins can lock a team to one design system; Claude Dashboards and Claude Motion betas — Claude, Claude Design product page.
  • [3] Free $0 with "Claude Design, Slides, Docs"; Pro $20 billed monthly or $17 a month with annual billing ($200 up front); Max from $100; Team $25 or $20 per standard seat and $125 or $100 per premium seat; Enterprise US$20 per seat a month billed annually, 20-seat minimum, usage billed separately; Claude Design, Slides and Docs marked Yes on every plan; prices exclude applicable tax — Claude, Plans and pricing.
  • [4] 16 September 2026, "Create designs, decks, and docs in any conversation": artifacts including Claude Design, Slides and Docs "available on every plan, including Free", Claude Design "works inside your conversations with all of its features"; 17 April 2026, Claude Design by Anthropic Labs — Claude Help Center, Release notes.
  • [5] Availability on Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise; Output > Design and the Artifacts tab; the seven-step flow; chat, inline comments and direct edits; "Designs start private to you"; the Export menu (.zip, PDF, PPTX, Google Slides, standalone HTML), Canva and "Handoff to Claude Code"; /design and /design-sync; iOS and Android behaviour; "counts toward the same usage limits as the rest of Claude"; no version history yet; known limitations — Claude Help Center, Get started with Claude Design.
  • [6] What a design system captures; sources including connected apps, uploaded files, Figma files, decks, logos and fonts; /design-sync for React components; beta on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, off on Enterprise until an owner turns it on; cleanup and retention after moving — Claude Help Center, Set up your design system in Claude Design.
  • [7] claude.ai/design closes on 14 December 2026 and becomes read-only; chats and comments do not move and are deleted some time after closing; public links stop working; only the owner can move a project; moved projects become artifacts; "Move team design systems"; the .zip project archive "is free and doesn't count toward your usage limits" — Claude Help Center, Move from standalone Claude Design to Claude.
  • [8] Claude Slides, "presentations built from your notes, reports, or the work already in your chat"; "Decks export to PowerPoint and PDF, or go straight to Google Slides as editable files"; Docs, Slides and Design templates on all plans; what Free does not include (Dashboards, Motion, connecting apps to an artifact, storing data in an artifact) — Claude Help Center, What are artifacts and how do I use them?.
  • [9] What stays editable in the PowerPoint export; "Charts, icons and shapes become pictures"; "Slide transitions and skipped slides are left out"; Google Slides copy in your Google Drive; decks in your brand's fonts and colours with a design system; "Present plays the deck full screen from inside Claude" — Claude Academy, Using Claude Design for presentations and slide decks.
  • [10] Figma Make generally available, "a prompt-to-app tool that allows designers and product builders to create interactive, high-fidelity prototypes" (24 July 2025) — Figma blog, Figma Make is now generally available (24 July 2025).
  • [11] Starter: 150 AI credits a day, up to 500 a month; Professional Full seat $16 a month with annual billing selected, plus 3,000 AI credits a month; prices in USD — Figma, Pricing.
  • [12] Credit rates as of 15 October 2026; "Generate an app from scratch: Approximately 100+ credits"; monthly credits per Full seat (Starter 500, Professional 3,000); daily limit of 150 credits on Starter — Figma Help Center, How Figma AI credits work.
  • [13] "Copying a Figma Make preview as design layers is available on all paid plans"; the layers are a snapshot — Figma Help Center, Copy a Figma Make preview as design layers.
  • [14] "Starter plans are a free way to explore Figma Make"; publishing and sharing by seat; Export code for Full and Dev seats — Figma Help Center, Figma Make FAQs.
  • [15] Stitch as a Google Labs experiment turning prompt and image inputs into UI designs and frontend code; paste to Figma; export front-end code (20 May 2025) — Google Developers Blog, From idea to app: Introducing Stitch (20 May 2025).
  • [16] Stitch as "an AI-native software design canvas"; export to AI Studio and Antigravity; DESIGN.md; MCP server and SDK (18 March 2026) — Google, Introducing "vibe design" with Stitch (18 March 2026).
  • [17] Claude Design drafts sent to Canva "become fully editable, structured designs" that can be "customised, brought on-brand, and collaborated on with your team" — Canva Newsroom, Introducing Canva in Claude Design by Anthropic Labs.
  • [18] Canva AI 2.0 "available today as a research preview"; layered, editable output; presentations with interactive elements; Sheets AI and Canva Code 2.0 (Canva Create, April 2026) — Canva Newsroom, Introducing Canva AI 2.0.
  • [19] Free: up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month; Canva Pro US$144 a year for one person with up to 200 Premium AI uses; Canva Business US$250 a year per person — Canva, Pricing (US).
  • [20] Download types: PDF, PPTX (presentations only), DOCX (Canva Docs), images, CSV, XLSX, GIF and MP4 — Canva Help Center, Supported download file types.
  • [21] Gamma export formats: PDF, PNG, PowerPoint, Google Slides via PPTX upload; the "Made by Gamma" badge on PDF and PPTX exports made on the Free plan — Gamma Help Center, What's the easiest way to export my Gamma?.

Exported a deck that needs to look designed? Upload it to NOXI, choose Beautify my deck, and download an editable PowerPoint or PDF with the same content and a cleaner design.

Written by Aidar Akmaev

Founder and designer of NOXI, an AI presentation maker for professional, consulting-grade decks. NOXI is one of the tools mentioned here; see the disclosure at the top.