NOXI

Slidesgo AI presentation maker review (2026): is it free, do you have to credit Slidesgo, and how it scores against Canva and NOXI

What Slidesgo's own pages say on 29 October 2026 about its free plan, the credits slide on free templates, Premium prices and the AI maker's PPTX, scored on seven printed rules against Canva and NOXI, with every sensitivity line and a student's six-decks-a-month worked example.

Listen to article 2:29 Try NOXI free
Slidesgo AI review cover: a template library with an AI presentation maker on top, how free it is, and its score of 57 against Canva 80 and NOXI 98 on seven documented criteria checked on 29 October 2026

Disclosure: NOXI publishes this page and is one of the tools scored. That's why the rules, weights and the source of every cell are printed, along with where NOXI loses points. Every Slidesgo and Canva fact below comes from the vendor's own pages, opened on 29 October 2026.

Quick answer: Is the Slidesgo AI presentation maker free? Yes, within limits: on 29 October 2026 Slidesgo's pricing page gives free accounts 3 AI-generated presentations and 3 template downloads a month, and free users must keep the slide with Slidesgo's credits. Premium costs €2.50 a month billed annually. On seven printed rules NOXI scores 98, Canva 80 and Slidesgo 57.

Slidesgo is a template site first. Its home page offers "Free Google Slides themes and Powerpoint templates", its pricing page lists "30,000+ templates", and the AI presentation maker sits on top of that library [1][2]. This review answers the questions searchers ask most from Slidesgo's own pages, then scores the AI maker against Canva on the rules we use for every presentation tool.

ToolTotalWhy, in one linePrice and free plan (29 Oct 2026)
NOXI98Researches prompt-started decks with source lines on slides; editable .pptx; right-to-left slidesFree: 1,000 credits a month, a deck uses about 25; no card, no watermark
Canva80A whole design suite with right-to-left page mirroring; its PPTX "may look different" in PowerPointFree plan with up to 20 AI uses a month; Pro US$144 a year (US view)
Slidesgo AI Presentation Maker57Designer templates first; the AI builds a deck from a topic or one file, then you edit by handFree: 3 AI decks and 3 template downloads a month, keep the credits slide; Premium €2.50 a month billed annually

Totals out of 100 on rubric P, documented capability, official pages opened on 29 October 2026; Slidesgo prices as shown in euros, Canva's in a US view. The per-criterion table with sources is further down.

Who should pick what

  • If you want a designer template to fill in yourself → Slidesgo, because its pricing page lists "30,000+ templates" for PowerPoint and Google Slides, and a free account downloads 3 a month [1].
  • If you want a low-cost paid plan for templates and AI decks → Slidesgo Premium, because it shows €29.99 a year (€2.50 a month), up to 150 AI generations a month and "No attribution required" [1].
  • If you teach and want lesson plans and quizzes beside your slides → Slidesgo's AI tools, because its AI page lists a Lesson Plan Generator, a Quiz Maker and an Exit Ticket Generator [5].
  • If you design more than slides, in Arabic too → Canva, because its translate tool can "Mirror page to match text direction" for right-to-left languages and its free plan includes AI uses every month [9][10].
  • If you want web-published decks with a free start → Gamma, because new free users get 400 credits once, and it scored 83 on the same rules on 27 October 2026 [11].
  • If you want the AI to research, build and edit the whole deck, then download an editable PowerPoint free → NOXI, because prompt-started decks research the web first and slides with figures carry a source line [16].

In short

  • Is Slidesgo AI free?Yes, up to 3 AI-generated presentations a month on a free account; you must be logged in. Premium raises that to up to 150 a month [1].
  • What the AI maker doesBuilds a 7–9, 9–12 or 12–16 slide deck from a topic or one attached file (.pdf, .docx or .txt, max 25 MB) and downloads it as a PPTX Slidesgo calls "fully editable" [2].
  • Attribution on free templates"If you are a free user, you must attribute Slidesgo by keeping the slide where the credits appear." Premium users don't need to [3][1].
  • Premium price€4.99 a month, or €2.50 a month billed annually (€29.99), "VAT and local taxes may apply", as shown in euros on 29 October 2026 [1].
  • ScoresNOXI 98, Canva 80, Slidesgo 57 on seven rules. Slidesgo leads Canva on export, because Canva warns its PPTX may look different [7].
  • Where Slidesgo is strongIts template library, free Google Slides and PowerPoint templates, teacher tools and a low Premium price; our rules score only the AI maker.

Key numbers

3
AI-generated presentations a month on Slidesgo's free plan, with 3 template downloads (29 October 2026) [1]
€2.50
Slidesgo Premium per month billed annually, €29.99 a year, shown in euros [1]
150
Monthly AI generations a Premium user can make, the footnote limit "established for security reasons" [1]
25 MB
Largest file the AI presentation maker accepts: one .pdf, .docx or .txt per deck [2]
30,000+
Templates in the full Slidesgo library, as its pricing page counts them [1]
1,000
NOXI credits every month on a free account, no card; a full deck uses about 25 [16]

Is Slidesgo AI free? What its pricing page says

Slidesgo's AI presentation maker is free for 3 AI-generated presentations a month, and the same free account downloads 3 templates a month; you must be logged in for either [1]. The AI maker's FAQ agrees: "You can create up to 3 free presentations every month" [2].

Two cards comparing Slidesgo's plans as its pricing page shows them on 29 October 2026. Free: 3 AI-generated presentations a month, 3 template downloads a month, keep the slide where the credits appear, one file up to 25 MB per AI deck, login required. Premium: 4.99 euros a month or 2.50 euros a month billed annually (29.99 euros), up to 150 AI generations and 150 downloads a month, 30,000+ templates, no attribution required.
Free covers 3 AI decks and 3 downloads a month with the credits slide kept; Premium lifts both to 150 and drops the credit, for €29.99 a year.
ItemFreePremiumSource
AI presentations3 a monthNo fixed number on the plan row; footnote: "a limit of 150 AI generations per month"Pricing [1]
Template downloads3 a monthUp to 150 a month (footnote)Pricing [1]
AttributionKeep the slide where the credits appear"No attribution required"FAQ, pricing [3][1]
Price0€4.99 a month, or €2.50 a month billed annually (€29.99); "VAT and local taxes may apply"Pricing, shown in euros [1]
AccountRequired, logged inUp to 1,000 users per subscriptionPricing [1]
LibraryFree templates"the full Slidesgo library of 30,000+ templates", Slidesclass lessons, ad-freePricing [1]

Prices as shown in euros on 29 October 2026; your local page may show another currency or tax.

Is Slidesgo free for students and teachers?

Students and teachers get the same free plan as everyone: 3 AI presentations and 3 downloads a month, credits slide kept. The pricing page offers "special prices for Educative institutions such as Schools, Districts or Universities" through a contact form; we found no individual student or teacher discount on the pages we opened [1].

Is Slidesgo not free anymore?

Slidesgo is still free to start, with limits. Its home page description reads "100% Free for any use", while the pricing page sets 3 downloads and 3 AI decks a month and the FAQ requires the credits slide [1][3]. Where a vendor's pages disagree, the pricing page decides.

Can I get Slidesgo Premium free?

The official routes are the Free plan, a paid Premium subscription, or an institution offer through Slidesgo's contact form [1]. Downloader sites and shared logins are outside Slidesgo's rules: its FAQ forbids redistributing its content or offering its templates for download elsewhere [3].

Freepik and Slidesgo: who runs it?

Slidesgo is operated by Freepik Company, S.L.U., of Málaga, Spain, as its terms state [4]. Its AI presentation maker counts against Slidesgo's own monthly limits, so a search for a "Freepik AI presentation maker" leads to the tool reviewed here.

Do I have to credit Slidesgo? The credits slide on free templates

Yes, if you are a free user. Slidesgo's FAQ says: "If you are a free user, you must attribute Slidesgo by keeping the slide where the credits appear" [3]. You may change everything else in the template; the FAQ adds that you are "required to keep the slide where the credits appear" unless you are a Premium user [3].

Definition Attribution (credits slide): the slide inside a free Slidesgo template that names Slidesgo and the creators of its icons, photos and illustrations. Free users keep it in every copy they share; Slidesgo Premium removes the requirement ("No attribution required") [1][3].

Slidesgo's terms (May 2024) put it in legal form: users must not remove "any attribution section which may have been generated by the Website", in editable or non-editable files, unless a licence allows it [4]. A free user who puts a Slidesgo infographic into another deck must "include credits somewhere in your slides" [3].

QuestionWhat Slidesgo's pages saySource
Free templateKeep the credits slide; customise everything elseFAQ [3]
Infographic used elsewhereFree users must credit Slidesgo somewhere in the slidesFAQ [3]
Sharing at work"You can share the content in a non-editable format for professional purposes"AI page FAQ [5]
Premium"you don't need to attribute"; editable sharing allowed, selling not allowedAI page FAQ [5]
AI-generated content"You do not need to license Slidesgo to use AI-generated content"; "Always disclose when content is fully or partially AI-generated"AI page FAQ [5]
Commercial use"free to use our templates for both personal and commercial purposes", no reselling or redistributionFAQ [3]

Do AI-generated Slidesgo decks carry the credits slide?

No page we opened says. The AI FAQ says you need no licence to use AI-generated content; the general FAQ says free users keep the credits slide; the AI maker builds on Slidesgo's own themes [2][3][5]. Rubric P therefore treats a free AI deck as a badged export (P1 4, P6 4) and prints 63 for the opposite reading below. Free users: check the last slides of a download before sending it.

How we compared Slidesgo, Canva and NOXI

All three tools were scored on documented capability with rubric P: seven criteria, one written rule each, applied the same way to every row. We re-applied the rules of our AI presentation tools ranking on 29 October 2026; the ranking's method section has the full anchors [12]. Every Slidesgo and Canva cell was re-opened on its official page today.

Method Scored on documented capability from official vendor pages opened on 29 October 2026. Not a new hands-on test. Weighted score = rating ÷ 5 × weight; weights total 100. Where two official pages of one vendor disagree, the vendor's pricing/plan page decides; where an official page is silent, the lower anchor is used and the alternative total is printed as a sensitivity line. Ties are broken on the heaviest criterion, then the next criterion in the table's order. All three rows are copied from our shared score table; NOXI's cells rest on NOXI's own product documentation, and NOXI scores lower (89) when a deck starts from an attached file, because research and source lines are off by default then.
CodeCriterionWeightThe rule (identical for every row)
P1Editable PPTX export205 = an editable .pptx with real text boxes documented on the free plan with no badge, or the tool edits the native PowerPoint or Google Slides file; 4 = the same export on paid plans only, or free with a badge; 3 = the vendor documents visible differences or elements that become images, or editability is not stated; 2 = PDF or images only, or a third-party step; 1 = no file export documented.
P2Editing depth205 = four AI levels documented: whole deck, one slide, one selected element, your own template or brand kit as the style (plus manual editing); 4 = three; 3 = two; 2 = one AI level plus manual editing; 1 = only regeneration, or only manual editing.
P3Research with sources155 = web research documented and the source appears on the slide; 4 = cited research, placement not stated; 3 = research, or citations placed in the chat or plan only; 2 = grounds on uploads, no sources; 1 = none documented.
P4Import155 = PDF, Word, Excel or CSV, PowerPoint and images all accepted to create a deck, with a stated size limit; 4 = four of five, or all five with no limit; 3 = two or three types; 2 = one; 1 = text prompt only.
P5Languages incl. RTL105 = right-to-left layout documented; 4 = a list naming Arabic; 3 = "many languages" without a list; 2 = no list or English-only generation; 1 = English only.
P6Free plan reality105 = free generation and editable export, no card, no watermark, a stated monthly allowance; 4 = free generation with a badged export, a small one-time pool, or no stated allowance; 3 = free generation without PowerPoint export; 2 = a time-limited trial only; 1 = no free use documented.
P7Where it runs105 = web + inside PowerPoint or Google Slides + an API, MCP server or connectors; 4 = web + one of those; 3 = web + desktop or mobile apps; 2 = web only, or a single host app.

Only official pages count, for every row; in-app screens and code strings do not, for NOXI either. That rule decides Slidesgo's editing cell.

Update since the 11 October ranking. Our AI presentation tools ranking, checked on 11 October 2026, scored Slidesgo AI 49 (cells 4, 2, 1, 2, 2, 4, 2). Re-reading Slidesgo's pages on 29 October 2026 for this review, three cells move up one step: research 1 → 2, because the AI maker builds a deck from one attached file; import 2 → 3, for PDF and Word files up to 25 MB; and languages 2 → 3, for the AI Translator ("into any language") [2][6]. Weighted, that is +3, +3 and +2 points: 49 + 3 + 3 + 2 = 57. Export, editing, free plan and where it runs are unchanged. The ranking page keeps its dated 11 October figure.

The scored table: NOXI 98, Canva 80, Slidesgo 57

NOXI scores 98, Canva 80 and Slidesgo's AI Presentation Maker 57 out of 100 on the seven rules. NOXI scores highest on these seven rules; Slidesgo leads Canva on one rule, export, and trails it on the other six.

Three stacked bars out of 100, one segment per criterion, from official pages opened on 29 October 2026. NOXI 98: P1 20, P2 20, P3 15, P4 15, P5 10, P6 10, P7 8. Canva 80: 12, 16, 9, 15, 10, 10, 8. Slidesgo AI Presentation Maker 57: 16, 8, 6, 9, 6, 8, 4, with its P1 export segment highlighted as the one rule where it leads Canva.
Slidesgo's AI maker leads Canva only on export; most of its gap is editing depth, research and import.
CriterionNOXICanvaSlidesgo AI
P1 Export (20)5. Editable .pptx with real text boxes and embedded fonts, Arabic included, on the free account, no watermark [16]3. Designs downloaded as PPTX "may look different when opened in Microsoft Powerpoint" [7]4 (v). "click Download now to get it in PPTX format. It's fully editable" [2]; free users keep the credits slide, read as a badge [3]
P2 Editing (20)5. Whole deck, one slide or one clicked element by chat; Match reference uses your deck as the style [16]4. Canva AI makes "design element changes", refines "your whole design" and applies a Brand Kit; slide level not stated [8]2 (v). "Adjust the tone, refine the content" for the deck, then manual edits of "text, colors, layouts" [2]
P3 Sources (15)5. Prompt-started decks research the web first; slides with figures carry a source line [16]3. "Use Web Research in Canva AI"; where sources appear on slides is not stated [8]2. Grounds on "one file (.pdf, .docx, or .txt)"; no web research or sources documented [2]
P4 Import (15)5. PDF, Word, Excel or CSV, PowerPoint and images, up to 200 MB per file [16]5. PPTX and Word up to 300 MB, PDF up to 300 MB and 500 pages, XLSX and CSV 100 MB, images under 50 MB [7]3. PDF and Word (also .txt and .md), one file, "max 25 MB"; "the option to upload your own images isn't available" [2]
P5 RTL (10)5. Right-to-left slides; timelines and tables run right to left [16]5. "Mirror page to match text direction to support right-to-left languages" [9]3. AI Translator: "Instantly translate your slides into any language"; no list, no right-to-left statement [6]
P6 Free plan (10)5. 1,000 credits reset every month, a deck uses about 25, no card, no watermark [16]5. Free plan includes presentations and "Up to 20 uses" of AI tools, reset monthly [10]4 (v). 3 AI presentations a month, login required; credits slide read as a badge [1][3]
P7 Where it runs (10)4. Web, a connector at noxi.ai/connect and a ChatGPT plugin; no add-in inside PowerPoint or Google Slides [13][14]4. Web, plus "Canva AI connectors" listed on its pricing page [10]2. Web only; the Google Slides add-on inserts templates, not the AI maker [3]
Total988057

(v) marks a cell that rests on a reading of the vendor's pages; its alternative total is printed below.

The arithmetic, row by row

Each weighted score is the rating divided by 5, times the criterion's weight; the totals are the sums of the seven weighted scores.

CriterionNOXICanvaSlidesgo AI
P1 (20)5 ÷ 5 × 20 = 203 ÷ 5 × 20 = 124 ÷ 5 × 20 = 16
P2 (20)204 ÷ 5 × 20 = 162 ÷ 5 × 20 = 8
P3 (15)153 ÷ 5 × 15 = 92 ÷ 5 × 15 = 6
P4 (15)15153 ÷ 5 × 15 = 9
P5 (10)10103 ÷ 5 × 10 = 6
P6 (10)10104 ÷ 5 × 10 = 8
P7 (10)4 ÷ 5 × 10 = 882 ÷ 5 × 10 = 4
Total20 + 20 + 15 + 15 + 10 + 10 + 8 = 9812 + 16 + 9 + 15 + 10 + 10 + 8 = 8016 + 8 + 6 + 9 + 6 + 8 + 4 = 57

Where the gaps come from

Canva − Slidesgo = 23 points: editing +8 (16 vs 8), import +6 (15 vs 9), right-to-left +4 (10 vs 6), where it runs +4 (8 vs 4), sources +3 (9 vs 6) and the free plan +2 (10 vs 8), against export −4 (12 vs 16). Check: 8 + 6 + 4 + 4 + 3 + 2 − 4 = 23, and 80 − 57 = 23. Slidesgo leads Canva on export because Slidesgo calls its PPTX "fully editable" while Canva documents that its PPTX may look different in PowerPoint [2][7].

NOXI − Slidesgo = 41 points: editing +12 (20 vs 8), sources +9 (15 vs 6), import +6 (15 vs 9), export +4 (20 vs 16), right-to-left +4 (10 vs 6), where it runs +4 (8 vs 4) and the free plan +2 (10 vs 8). Check: 12 + 9 + 6 + 4 + 4 + 4 + 2 = 41, and 98 − 57 = 41.

NOXI − Canva = 18 points: export +8, sources +6 and editing +4 (8 + 6 + 4 = 18); Canva ties NOXI on the other four rules.

What would change the result

  • Slidesgo 65 if its product's own interface strings ("Rewrite slide", "Rewrite text") count as documentation of slide-level and element-level AI edits (P2 4): 285 + 40 = 325, ÷ 5 = 65.
  • Slidesgo 63 if the credits slide is not read as a badge on AI decks (P1 5 and P6 5): 285 + 20 + 10 = 315, ÷ 5 = 63.
  • Slidesgo 71 with both readings above: 355 ÷ 5 = 71.
  • Slidesgo 61 if the "Slidesgo for Google Slides" template add-on counts as running inside Google Slides (P7 4): 305 ÷ 5 = 61.
  • Slidesgo 75 with all three readings: 375 ÷ 5 = 75, still below Canva's 80.
  • Canva 78 if page mirroring is not read as right-to-left layout (P5 4); Canva 76 if the pricing page's "Export designs as PDF, JPG, PNG" row is read as the full free export list (P6 3).
  • NOXI 89 for a deck started from an attached file, because research and source lines are off by default then (P3 2: 490 − 45 = 445, ÷ 5 = 89); NOXI 94 without the connector and the ChatGPT plugin (P7 2).

No reading moves the order: Slidesgo's highest alternative, 75, stays below Canva's lowest, 76.

What is Slidesgo? A template site first, with AI on top

Slidesgo is a library of designer-made presentation templates for Google Slides and PowerPoint, run by Freepik Company, with an AI presentation maker and a set of AI tools added to it. Its pricing page headline is "Designer-made templates, powered by AI", and its AI page says more than 70 million people use Slidesgo (its own figure) [1][2].

Most people arrive at Slidesgo for a template: a thesis defence, a lesson, a pitch. The library is the product's real strength, and our rubric does not score it; it scores what the AI maker documents. Slidesgo's own template counts differ from page to page (the pricing page says "30,000+", the pricing benefits block "+15000 Premium"), so this review cites the pricing page each time [1].

Part of SlidesgoWhat it doesPlan
Template libraryGoogle Slides themes and PowerPoint templates by topic, colour, style and school level [1]Free (3 downloads a month) and Premium
AI Presentation MakerA deck from a topic or one file, on a Slidesgo theme, downloaded as PPTX [2]Free (3 a month) and Premium (up to 150)
AI toolsAI PDF to PPT Converter, Lesson Plan Generator, Quiz Maker, Exit Ticket Generator, Icebreaker Generator [5]Account required
Online editor"Now you can also edit with our online editor" (Premium benefits); AI Translator in the editor [1][6]Listed among Premium benefits
Google Slides add-on"Slidesgo for Google Slides" from the Google Workspace Marketplace inserts slides and themes [3]Log in for a better experience

For readers who mainly want a free template site rather than an AI maker, our guide to the best free AI presentation maker compares what each free plan really allows.

Making a deck with the Slidesgo AI presentation maker

The Slidesgo AI presentation maker turns a short description, or one attached file, into a deck in four steps its page names: think of your topic, personalise, pick a style, download the result [2]. The page's own advice is to give the topic, the audience and the tone: "the better the AI can shape the slides to fit your needs" [2].

Definition AI presentation maker: a tool that writes and lays out a whole deck from a short description or a source file, as opposed to a template, where the layout is ready and you write every word. Slidesgo offers both: the template library and, on top of it, an AI maker that fills one of its themes for you.
  1. Log in. A free account is needed to generate and to upload files: "Log in for free to use AI and upload files" [2].
  2. Describe the deck. Type the topic, who it is for and how it should feel. Optionally attach one file: "Attach one file (.pdf, .docx, or .txt), max 25 MB" [2].
  3. Pick a length and a style. Lengths are Short (7–9 slides), Informative (9–12) and Detailed (12–16); the style comes from "a wide range of templates—from clean and minimal to bold and expressive" [2].
  4. Personalise and download. "Adjust the tone, refine the content, and fine-tune visuals", then "click Download now to get it in PPTX format" [2].

Two limits shape the result: no page we opened describes web research or source lines (P3 is 2), and "the option to upload your own images isn't available" yet [2].

Can Slidesgo make a presentation from a PDF?

Yes. Attach one PDF of up to 25 MB to the AI presentation maker and it builds a deck from it; Slidesgo also lists a separate AI PDF to PPT Converter among its AI tools [2][5]. Word (.docx) and text files work the same way. Excel, CSV, PowerPoint and image files are not in the maker's documented list, which is why import scores 3.

Editing and export: is the Slidesgo AI presentation editable?

Yes, as Slidesgo describes it: the downloaded PPTX is "fully editable and compatible with tools like PowerPoint, Google Slides, and Figma" [2]. PPTX is the only export format today; the page says "We're working on adding more format options in the future" [2].

Definition Editable PPTX export: a PowerPoint file in which each title, paragraph and label is a real text box you can retype, restyle and move, rather than a picture of the slide. Rubric P gives a 5 only when this is documented on the free plan with no badge, or when the tool works inside the PowerPoint or Google Slides file itself.

Slidesgo's page documents one AI editing level, the whole deck ("Adjust the tone, refine the content"), plus manual changes to "text, colors, layouts, and more" [2]. Inside the editor, its AI Translator can "Instantly translate your slides into any language" in one click [6]. Slidesgo's product code also contains "Rewrite slide" and "Rewrite text" labels, but no help page we opened describes them; our rule counts official pages only, so editing scores 2, and the 65 alternative above shows what those buttons would be worth.

Does Slidesgo work with PowerPoint and Google Slides?

Yes, both. The AI maker downloads a PPTX that opens in PowerPoint and that Google Slides can open from Drive [2]. Templates download as Google Slides copies or PowerPoint files: the FAQ's "Copy the presentation" saves a template to your Google Drive, and "Download this template" then "PowerPoint" saves a file [3]. The "Slidesgo for Google Slides" add-on inserts template slides inside Google Slides; it does not run the AI maker there [3].

Slidesgo for teachers: lesson plans, quizzes and exit tickets

Slidesgo is built with classrooms in mind: its AI page lists a Lesson Plan Generator ("Just choose your grade and subject, then describe your topic"), a Quiz Maker, an Exit Ticket Generator and an Icebreaker Generator next to the presentation maker [5]. Premium adds Slidesclass, described as "teacher-verified, ready-to-teach lessons" [1].

Slidesgo lists student-privacy commitments on its own AI page, including data-protection rules for minors [5]. Its AI FAQ asks users to "Always disclose when content is fully or partially AI-generated", which is good practice for any classroom deck [5].

For a teacher, 3 AI decks a month is the main limit. Our ranking of AI presentation tools for teachers compares classroom tools on the same terms.

Slidesgo vs Canva

On the same seven rules Canva scores 80 and Slidesgo's AI maker 57. Canva leads on editing depth, import, right-to-left layout, where it runs, research and its free plan; Slidesgo leads on export, because it calls its PPTX "fully editable" while Canva warns its PPTX may look different in PowerPoint [2][7].

ItemSlidesgo AI Presentation MakerCanva
Free AI3 AI presentations a month [1]Up to 20 uses of AI tools a month, reset monthly [10]
Paid entryPremium €29.99 a year (€2.50 a month), shown in euros [1]Pro US$144 a year for one person, US view [10]
PowerPoint filePPTX "fully editable" [2]PPTX "may look different" in PowerPoint [7]
ImportOne .pdf, .docx or .txt file, 25 MB [2]PPTX, Word, PDF, Excel, CSV and images, with size limits [7]
AI editingWhole deck by tone and content, then manual [2]Element changes, whole design, Brand Kit [8]
ResearchNone documented [2]Web Research in Canva AI [8]
Right-to-leftTranslation, no right-to-left statement [6]Mirror page for right-to-left languages [9]
AttributionFree users keep the credits slide [3]Not part of the scored rules

Pick Slidesgo for a good-looking template you will write yourself, or when €29.99 a year is the budget. Pick Canva when you also design posts, documents or video, need a Brand Kit, or work in Arabic. Our NOXI vs Canva comparison scores Canva against NOXI in more depth, and our Canva alternatives ranking scores ten tools against Canva on the same rules.

Slidesgo or Canva for students?

For three AI decks a month or fewer, with the credits slide kept, Slidesgo Free covers the job. Canva Free counts its allowance differently, as up to 20 AI uses a month rather than a number of decks [10].

Slidesgo vs Gamma and NOXI

Gamma scored 83 on the same seven rules when we re-opened its pages on 27 October 2026, 26 points above Slidesgo; NOXI scores 98. Gamma gives new free users 400 credits once, puts a "Made by Gamma" badge on free PDF and PPTX exports, and costs $9 a seat a month billed annually for Plus [11].

Slidesgo gives you a designer template and leaves the writing to you; Gamma builds web-first decks you share as links; NOXI researches, builds and edits the whole deck. For the wider field of tools that work like Google Slides, see our ranking of Google Slides alternatives; for another template-friendly AI maker with a Google Slides add-on, our MagicSlides review scores it on the same rules.

What these rules don't measure

Rubric P scores Slidesgo's AI maker, not Slidesgo, and several of Slidesgo's best qualities sit outside it.

  • The template library. Slidesgo's designer-made templates ("30,000+" on its pricing page) for Google Slides and PowerPoint are its core product and are not scored [1].
  • Design quality. How good a theme looks, how consistent its layouts are and how well it fits a school or business audience is taste, and no rule here measures it, for any tool.
  • Price. Slidesgo Premium costs €2.50 a month billed annually (€29.99 a year) for templates and AI decks together; P6 scores only the free plan [1].
  • Teacher tools. Lesson plans, quizzes, exit tickets, icebreakers and Slidesclass lessons are outside rubric P [1][5].
  • The Google Slides add-on. Inserting template slides inside Google Slides is a real convenience; P7 counts only an AI maker running inside the host app (61 on the other reading).
  • Canva's suite. Canva's whole visual suite, brand kits and education plan go far beyond slides, and the rubric scores only its presentation features.
  • Output quality, speed and accuracy. Not measured for anyone, nor how often a tool invents a figure. Neither are accessibility, comments and review, or privacy terms.

The fair test is your own: make the same deck in each tool and compare the files you would actually present.

Worked example: six decks a month on a student budget

A student who needs six decks a month gets three from Slidesgo Free and all six from a free NOXI account (150 of 1,000 credits), so she pays neither €29.99 a year for Slidesgo Premium nor US$144 for Canva Pro.

Example Hannah Lee is a fictional second-year student in Toronto. Each month she makes 4 seminar decks that need sourced figures and 2 decks for her debating club, which has a look she designed herself last term. Her professors open every file in PowerPoint. Prices are those on the vendors' pages on 29 October 2026.

Step 1: what each plan covers in a month

OptionDecks coveredArithmeticCost a year
Slidesgo Free3 of 63 ÷ 6 = 50%; no web research; free-plan attribution rules apply0
Slidesgo Premium6 of 66 of up to 150 a month; no attribution€29.99 (€2.50 × 12)
Canva Pro6 of 6Paid AI allowance; PPTX "may look different"US$144
NOXI free account6 of 66 × 25 = 150 of 1,000 credits = 15%0
Hannah Lee's month, a fictional example with prices from 29 October 2026: six deck tiles, four seminar decks and two club decks. Slidesgo Free covers three of the six. A free NOXI account covers all six for 150 of its 1,000 monthly credits, 15%. The paid plans she avoids: Slidesgo Premium at 29.99 euros a year and Canva Pro at US$144 a year.
Slidesgo Free covers half of Hannah's month; a free NOXI account covers all six decks with 85% of its credits left.

Step 2: which decks go where

The 4 seminar decks start from a prompt, so NOXI researches each topic and puts a source line on slides with figures: 4 × 25 = 100 credits. The 2 club decks use Match reference with the deck Hannah designed: 2 × 25 = 50 credits; they start from an attached file, so web research is off by default, which suits club news. Total 150, leaving 850.

Step 3: where Slidesgo still helps

Hannah keeps her free Slidesgo account to browse looks and download up to 3 templates a month; when she presents one, she keeps its credits slide, as the free plan requires.

Step 4: the decision

Over a year, 6 × 12 = 72 decks: Slidesgo Free would cover 3 × 12 = 36, 50%; NOXI covers all 72 for 72 × 25 = 1,800 of 12 × 1,000 = 12,000 credits, 15%. She spends 0 instead of €29.99 or US$144, and downloads her decks as editable PowerPoint files with real text boxes. Review date: 1 February 2027.

Where NOXI fits

NOXI is our pick for a researched, fully designed deck that you edit by chat and download free as an editable PowerPoint, with source lines on slides with figures in decks started from a prompt, and right-to-left slides for Arabic. It builds the whole deck from a topic, a brief or a file.

Describe your topic and NOXI builds the full deck; you can review the outline first or generate straight away. NOXI adds images where a slide needs one. With Match reference, upload any PowerPoint, PDF or image and NOXI designs the new deck in that style.

NOXI is also a plugin in ChatGPT's plugin directory: open Plugins in the ChatGPT sidebar, search NOXI, select Install plugin and then Connect, sign in to NOXI, and type @NOXI in a chat to ask for a deck. OpenAI says installing or using a plugin "depends on your plan, workspace, role, region" [14]. Our NOXI ChatGPT plugin post has the details.

NOXI's privacy policy, last updated on 20 September 2026, says: "We do not use your presentations, prompts, or uploaded files to train or fine-tune AI models" [15].

Three prompts for a NOXI deck

Prompt 1 · Seminar deck with sources

"Build a 10-slide seminar deck on [topic] for [course] students: the question, three findings with one sourced number each, a chart of [data], two counter-arguments, and a conclusion. Full-sentence slide titles."

Prompt 2 · In my own style (Match reference)

"Use the attached deck as the style. Make an 8-slide deck for [club or team] about [event]: date and place, the agenda, who does what, the budget in [currency], and how to sign up."

Prompt 3 · Tool comparison deck

"Build a 9-slide deck comparing [tool A], [tool B] and [tool C] for [audience]: the verdict, seven criteria with each rating and its reason, the arithmetic of each total, what each free plan allows, and a review date."

Build it: a new deck in your own style with NOXI's Match reference

To make a new deck in a look you already have, choose Match reference under More on NOXI's Home screen, upload the reference deck, describe the new deck, then edit it and download an editable PowerPoint or a PDF. One flow, six steps:

Step 1 — Choose Match reference

Open noxi.ai, sign in with a free account (no card), and pick Match reference under More on the Home screen. Uploading a file needs the free account.

Step 2 — Upload the deck whose look you want

Upload a PowerPoint, PDF or image of a deck you made, or one whose licence lets you reuse its design, up to 200 MB.

Step 3 — Describe the new deck

In the brief, give the topic, the audience, the number of slides and anything that must appear, or paste Prompt 2.

Step 4 — Check the new deck

NOXI designs the new deck in the reference's style: colours, typography, layouts and visual rhythm. Read it slide by slide and confirm every name, date and number.

Step 5 — Edit by chat or on the slide

Ask the AI to change one slide or the whole deck in plain language, click any element and tell it what to change, or edit text right on the slide.

Step 6 — Download, present or share

Download an editable PowerPoint (.pptx) with real text boxes and embedded fonts, or a PDF, free and with no watermark. You can also present full-screen or share a view-only or edit link.

Slidesgo AI presentation maker: FAQ

Is Slidesgo free?
Yes, with limits. On 29 October 2026 Slidesgo's pricing page gives a free account 3 template downloads and 3 AI-generated presentations a month, and free users must keep the slide where Slidesgo's credits appear. You need an account and must be logged in. Premium lifts both limits to up to 150 a month.
Is Slidesgo AI free?
Slidesgo's AI presentation maker is free for up to 3 presentations a month on a free, logged-in account, as its pricing page and its AI page said on 29 October 2026. More decks need Slidesgo Premium, which allows up to 150 AI generations a month for €2.50 a month billed annually.
How much is Slidesgo Premium?
Slidesgo Premium costs €4.99 a month, or €2.50 a month billed annually as €29.99 a year, as its pricing page showed in euros on 29 October 2026, with "VAT and local taxes may apply". It includes the full 30,000+ template library, up to 150 AI decks a month and no attribution.
Do I have to credit Slidesgo?
Yes, if you are a free user. Slidesgo's FAQ says free users must attribute Slidesgo by keeping the slide where the credits appear, and its terms forbid removing that attribution section. Premium users don't need to credit Slidesgo. These rules were on Slidesgo's FAQ, terms and pricing pages on 29 October 2026.
Can I edit Slidesgo AI presentations in PowerPoint?
Yes. Slidesgo's AI presentation maker downloads a PPTX file that Slidesgo calls fully editable and compatible with PowerPoint, Google Slides and Figma, according to its page on 29 October 2026. PPTX is the only export format today. Free users should check whether the downloaded deck includes the credits slide before sharing it.
Can Slidesgo make a presentation from a PDF?
Yes. Slidesgo's AI presentation maker accepts one attached file per deck, a PDF, Word document or text file of up to 25 MB, and builds the slides from it, per its page on 29 October 2026. It does not accept your own images yet. Slidesgo also lists a separate AI PDF to PPT Converter.
Is Slidesgo better than Canva?
For AI deck-making, Canva scores 80 and Slidesgo's AI maker 57 on our seven printed rules, checked on 29 October 2026. Slidesgo leads on export, with a PPTX it calls fully editable; Canva leads on editing, import, research, right-to-left layout, where it runs and its free plan. For a designer template you fill in yourself, Slidesgo's library is built for that job.
Is Slidesgo good for teachers?
Yes, especially for templates and classroom tools. On 29 October 2026 Slidesgo listed a Lesson Plan Generator, Quiz Maker, Exit Ticket Generator and, on Premium, teacher-verified Slidesclass lessons. Teachers get the same free plan as everyone, 3 AI decks a month, and schools can ask Slidesgo for special institution prices.
Is Slidesgo free for students?
Students use Slidesgo's standard free plan: 3 AI presentations and 3 template downloads a month, keeping the credits slide, per its pricing page on 29 October 2026. We found no individual student discount; Slidesgo offers special prices to schools and universities through its contact form. Premium costs €29.99 a year.
How is NOXI different from Slidesgo?
On seven printed rules checked on 29 October 2026, NOXI scores 98 and Slidesgo's AI maker 57. NOXI researches decks started from a prompt with source lines on slides, edits one slide, one element or the whole deck by chat, and gives 1,000 free credits a month. Slidesgo's strength is its designer template library.

Sources & methodology

Every Slidesgo and Canva fact comes from the vendor's own pricing pages, help pages, FAQs and terms, opened without signing in on 29 October 2026. NOXI's cells rest on NOXI's product documentation and its public pages. The score rows are copied from our shared rubric P table (checked 29 October 2026): documented capability, not a hands-on test. Hannah Lee is fictional; every calculation was checked twice. All sources were checked on 29 October 2026.

  • [1] Free: "AI-generated presentations per month 3", "Slidesgo template downloads per month 3"; Premium footnote "a limit of 150 AI generations per month established for security reasons" (and 150 downloads); "Access to the full Slidesgo library of 30,000+ templates"; "No attribution required"; "4.99 €", "2.50 € /month", "29.99 € billed annually. VAT and local taxes may apply."; "Up to 1000 users"; "You'll need to create an account and be logged in"; special prices for "Educative institutions"; "Designer-made templates, powered by AI" — Slidesgo, Pricing; home page title "Free Google Slides themes and Powerpoint templates" and description "100% Free for any use" — Slidesgo, Home. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [2] "click Download now to get it in PPTX format. It's fully editable and compatible with tools like PowerPoint, Google Slides, and Figma"; "We're working on adding more format options"; "You can create up to 3 free presentations every month"; "Adjust the tone, refine the content"; "adjusting text, colors, layouts"; "Attach one file (.pdf, .docx, or .txt), max 25 MB"; "Log in for free to use AI and upload files"; "the option to upload your own images isn't available"; lengths 7–9, 9–12, 12–16 slides; "Join 70M+ other Slidesgo users" — Slidesgo, AI Presentation Maker. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [3] "If you are a free user, you must attribute Slidesgo by keeping the slide where the credits appear"; "required to keep the slide where the credits appear … unless you are a Premium user"; infographics: "include credits somewhere in your slides"; "free to use our templates for both personal and commercial purposes", no sublicensing, selling or redistribution; Keynote "compatible with PowerPoint presentations"; Google Slides "Copy the presentation"; "Slidesgo for Google Slides" add-on from the Google Workspace Marketplace — Slidesgo, FAQs. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [4] Terms of use (May 2024): operated by Freepik Company, S.L.U., Málaga; section 7.4 Attribution: not to remove "any attribution section which may have been generated by the Website" unless a licence allows it — Slidesgo, Terms & Conditions. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [5] AI tools: AI PDF to PPT Converter, AI Lesson Plan Generator ("choose your grade and subject"), AI Quiz Maker, AI Exit Ticket Generator, AI Icebreaker Generator; FAQ: "You do not need to license Slidesgo to use AI-generated content"; "Always disclose when content is fully or partially AI-generated"; "share the content in a non-editable format for professional purposes"; Premium "you don't need to attribute"; data-protection commitments for minors — Slidesgo, AI tools. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [6] AI Translator: "Instantly translate your slides into any language" — Slidesgo, Slideshow maker. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [7] PPTX downloads "may look different when opened in Microsoft Powerpoint" — Canva Help, Download file types; imports: .pptx and .docx 300 MB, PDF 300 MB and 500 pages, .xlsx and .csv 100 MB, images under 50 MB — Canva Help, Upload formats and requirements. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [8] Canva AI: "design element changes", "refining your whole design", "select and apply a Brand Kit"; "Use Web Research in Canva AI" — Canva Help, Using Canva AI. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [9] "Mirror page to match text direction to support right-to-left languages" — Canva Help, Translate designs. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [10] Canva Free: "Up to 20 uses" of AI tools, resetting monthly; presentations included; "Canva AI connectors" listed among new features; Pro "US$144 /year for one person" (US view; a UAE browser showed dirhams) — Canva, Pricing. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [11] Gamma: "Each new Free user receives 400 credits when initially signing up" — Gamma Help 7834324; "'Made by Gamma' badge appears on PDF and PPTX exports" — Gamma Help 8022861; Plus $9 a seat a month billed annually ($12 monthly) — Gamma pricing. Gamma's rubric P row (83) from our shared table, re-opened 27 October 2026. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [12] Rubric P anchors and weights — NOXI, AI presentation tools ranking, method. Rules re-applied 29 October 2026; the ranking's 11 October edition listed Slidesgo AI at 49 (cells 4, 2, 1, 2, 2, 4, 2). Gamma's 83 comes from our 27 October 2026 rubric P table.
  • [13] "Every assistant connects to the same address": https://mcp.noxi.ai/mcp; sign in to NOXI to connect — NOXI, Connect NOXI to your AI assistant. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [14] NOXI listing in ChatGPT's plugin directory (NOXI · AI presentation maker, Install plugin), published 26 October 2026 — ChatGPT, NOXI plugin; "Go to Plugins on the sidebar", "Select Install plugin", installing or using one "depends on your plan, workspace, role, region" — OpenAI Help, Plugins in ChatGPT. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [15] "We do not use your presentations, prompts, or uploaded files to train or fine-tune AI models" (last updated 20 September 2026) — NOXI, Privacy Policy. Checked 29 October 2026.
  • [16] NOXI free plan: 1,000 credits at signup, reset to 1,000 on the 1st of each month; a full deck uses about 25 credits; no card and no watermark; editable .pptx with real text boxes and embedded fonts; inputs PDF, Word, Excel or CSV, PowerPoint and images up to 200 MB per file; research and source lines for prompt-started decks; right-to-left slides; Match reference — NOXI product documentation (audit of 2 October 2026), the basis of NOXI's cells. Checked 29 October 2026.

Like a look but need the AI to write the deck? Upload it to NOXI with Match reference, describe the new deck, and download it free as an editable PowerPoint or a PDF.

Written by Aidar Akmaev

Founder and designer of NOXI, an AI presentation maker for professional, consulting-grade decks. NOXI is one of the three tools scored here; see the disclosure at the top.