NOXI

Microsoft Publisher Alternatives in November 2026: 12 Scored on .pub Files, Print and Price

Twelve Publisher alternatives, from Canva, Affinity and Word to Scribus, LibreOffice Draw and InDesign, scored on seven printed rules: opening .pub files, Publisher's everyday jobs, print-ready PDFs, staying free, desktop apps, layouts from a request and right to left.

Listen to article 2:27 Try NOXI free
Microsoft Publisher alternatives, a NOXI blog cover: twelve tools scored on seven printed rules for November 2026, after Publisher left Microsoft 365, with Canva first and three tools that open .pub files

Disclosure: NOXI publishes this page. It is not a desktop publisher and does not open .pub files: NOXI makes brochures, certificates, letters and invitations from one request. So it is scored on the same rules for transparency and printed below the ranked table as a reference row, outside the numbered order.

Microsoft Publisher alternative, scored on seven printed rules on 5 November 2026: Canva leads with 83 of 100, then Affinity 81, Microsoft Word 78, and Scribus and LibreOffice Draw on 76. Only Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw document opening .pub files. Publisher left Microsoft 365 on or shortly after 1 October 2026.

If you opened Publisher in October and found it gone, you have one practical question: which program opens the newsletters and programmes you already have, and prints the next one, at what cost. Much of what ranks for this search was written while Publisher was still part of Microsoft 365.

This page leans on pages dated after the removal: Microsoft's own Publisher page (its metadata carries 27 October 2026), The Document Foundation's post of 14 October, and Affinity's release notes with the iPad launch of 2 November. Twelve tools are scored on seven rules, every cell names the page it came from and the time we read it, and a right-to-left column covers Arabic and Hebrew jobs.

Microsoft Publisher alternatives: the twelve, scored

On seven documented rules checked on 5 November 2026, Canva scores 83 of 100, Affinity 81 and Microsoft Word 78, and the heaviest rule, opening your old .pub files, is where the field splits.

#ToolScore of 100Why it scores thereSource, read on 5 November 2026 (UTC)
1Canva83PDF import, print PDF with bleed, desktop apps, right to left; premium elements watermarked on Freecanva.com help (PDF import, file types, watermarks, translate), templates, download, Magic Design, 15:37 to 15:40
2Affinity (by Canva)81Opens .pub files, free for individuals, PDF/X; no right-to-left languageaffinity.studio Publisher import help, download FAQ, Publisher alternative page, 15:50 to 15:51
3Microsoft Word78Microsoft's route via PDF, 12 of 13 jobs, free on the web; no print markssupport.microsoft.com Publisher page (ms.date 27 Oct 2026), Word and Office help, microsoft.com, 15:43 to 15:44
4Scribus76Opens .pub files, PDF/X-4, free; right to left only in a development releasewiki.scribus.net 1.6.0 and 1.7.4 release pages, 15:35 to 15:37
5LibreOffice Draw76Opens .pub files, free, Arabic and Hebrew; no print marksblog.documentfoundation.org (14 Oct 2026), help.libreoffice.org, 15:51 to 15:52
6Adobe Express66PDF import, crop marks and bleed; no desktop app, right to left partialadobe.com/express pricing and templates, helpx export and known issues, 15:40 to 15:43
7Microsoft PowerPoint66Microsoft's pick for posters, free on the web; no .pub or PDF routesupport.microsoft.com Publisher page and Copilot in PowerPoint help, 15:43 to 15:44
8Adobe InDesign55Opens a PDF as editable, full print marks; paid after a 7-day trialhelpx.adobe.com InDesign help, adobe.com plans, 15:49 to 15:50
9QuarkXPress55Converts PDFs, PDF/X, Arabic and Hebrew; paid after a 7-day trialquark.com product page, shop and 2027 guides, 15:52 to 15:53
10Google Docs53PDF to text, free, right to left; two jobs documented, no desktop appsupport.google.com Drive and Docs help, workspace.google.com, 15:45 to 15:48
11Marq (formerly Lucidpress)4312 of 13 jobs, print marks; free plan capped at three projectsmarq.com pricing and templates, help.marq.com, 15:53
12Swift Publisher36CMYK and bleed; Mac only, $19.99 after a trialswiftpublisher.com, 15:53

The finding in three lines. Canva leads on 83 without opening a .pub file, on templates, print files, desktop apps and right to left. Three of the twelve open .pub files on their own pages, Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw, and all three are free. Without the right-to-left rule, Affinity leads.

Stacked bar chart of twelve Microsoft Publisher alternatives scored on seven rules out of 100: Canva 83, Affinity 81, Microsoft Word 78, Scribus 76, LibreOffice Draw 76, Adobe Express 66, Microsoft PowerPoint 66, Adobe InDesign 55, QuarkXPress 55, Google Docs 53, Marq 43 and Swift Publisher 36, with the twenty-point segment for opening .pub files shaded so the three tools that document it stand out.
The shaded segment is the .pub rule: three rows take it in full, six take half for importing a PDF, three take nothing.

Two reference rows, not ranked. NOXI scores 49 on the same rules; ranked, it would sit eleventh of thirteen. It takes full marks on two rules: a whole layout from one request, and right-to-left pages with mirrored layouts. Its other cells, as facts: an attached file is input for a new document, so no .pub import; six of Microsoft's 13 jobs match NOXI formats; it exports a PDF with print options not stated; the free plan covers five documents a month with no watermark; and it runs in the browser. Microsoft Designer scores 18: readers ask whether it replaces Publisher, and Microsoft's Publisher page does not mention it.

Reference rowScore of 100What it isSource, read on 5 November 2026
NOXI49A document maker that builds brochures, certificates, letters and invitations from one request, in English and ArabicNOXI 2.0 product record, rows A, I, L, M, N, Q and S
Microsoft Designer18A browser app that drafts images, cards and invitations from a sentence; no PDF named in its FAQsupport.microsoft.com Designer FAQ (dated 2024 on the page), 15:45

Who should pick what

Six needs point to six tools, and five of the six are not ours.

  • If your .pub files must open, for free, on Windows or a Mac then Affinity, because its help page says files from Publisher 97, 2000, 2002 and later are supported, and its download FAQ calls it "completely free for individuals" [2].
  • If you want open source, or you run Linux then LibreOffice Draw or Scribus, because The Document Foundation calls Draw "the quickest way to open, view, edit and manage Publisher documents", and Scribus 1.6 lists Publisher import on its wiki [4] [5].
  • If you already pay for Microsoft 365 then Word, with PowerPoint for posters, because Microsoft's own table names Word for 12 of Publisher's 13 jobs and PowerPoint for banners, signs and posters [3].
  • If you want the most ready templates and a print PDF with bleed then Canva, because its help page documents PDF Print at 300 dpi with bleed and crop marks, and it runs as a desktop app on Mac and Windows [1].
  • If a commercial printer takes your files then InDesign or QuarkXPress, because InDesign's export defines printer's marks and bleed and QuarkXPress lists PDF/X-1a, PDF/X-3 and PDF/X-4; both are paid after a 7-day trial [7] [8].
  • If you need a brochure, certificate or letter in Arabic and English from one sentence, and have no .pub file to open then NOXI, because its pages run right to left with mirrored layouts and the PDF downloads with no watermark on the free plan [13].

In short

  • The leaderCanva, 83 of 100, with full marks on five of seven rules.
  • The .pub findingThree of twelve document opening .pub files: Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw, all free.
  • Microsoft's own answerWord for 12 of Publisher's 13 jobs, PowerPoint for 7, and Affinity named in its FAQ.
  • Without right to leftAffinity leads on 85.9, ahead of Scribus and Canva on 80.0.
  • MethodDocumented capability from official pages opened on 5 November 2026. Not a new hands-on test.

Key numbers

1 Oct
Microsoft 365 subscribers lose Publisher on or shortly after this date in 2026 [3]
13 Oct
Support for the perpetual version of Publisher ended, 2026 [3]
13
Publisher jobs in Microsoft's replacement table, Word named for 12 [3]
3 of 12
Ranked tools whose own pages document opening .pub files [2] [4] [5]
83
Canva, first on seven rules, 5 November 2026 [1]
Free
Affinity for individuals, with a Canva account; AI tools need a Canva premium plan [2]

Microsoft Publisher end of life: the dates, and what happens to your files

Publisher reached its end of life in October 2026: Microsoft 365 subscribers lose it on or shortly after 1 October, and support for the perpetual version ended on 13 October. "End of life" is Microsoft's phrase.

The dates, from the page as we re-read it at 16:38 UTC on 5 November 2026:

  • On or shortly after 1 October 2026, Microsoft 365 subscribers can no longer access it, "as the removal update process rolls out". They can no longer open or edit their files in Publisher either.
  • On 13 October 2026, support for the perpetual version ended, the day Office LTSC 2021 and Consumer Office 2021 reached end of support.
  • After that, perpetual owners can still install and use the app and still open and edit their files. Support has ended.

Microsoft advised converting files to PDF or Word before 1 October. If you missed that date on a subscription, the way out is one of the three programs below that open .pub files directly.

Timeline of Microsoft Publisher's end of life and what moved after it: 1 October 2026 Microsoft 365 subscribers lose access, 13 October perpetual support ends with Office 2021, 14 October The Document Foundation says LibreOffice Draw opens Publisher documents, 27 October Microsoft's page and Scribus' development release page are updated, 29 October LibreOffice 26.8.2, 2 November Affinity for iPad, and 5 November when every page here was read.
Five weeks moved the answer: the removal, two open-source pages and an Affinity release all fall between 1 October and 2 November 2026.

Microsoft offers two routes for existing files. The first converts a Publisher file to PDF and opens the PDF in Word, where "its layout may vary from the original PDF", especially with many graphics. The second is a third-party converter, which Microsoft says it does not support. Its FAQ adds a sample PowerShell script for exporting many files to PDF, and suggests searching your PC, OneDrive or SharePoint for ".pub" to find them.

Definition .pub file. The native file format of Microsoft Publisher. Affinity cannot save back to it ("Affinity does not export to the .pub file format"), so any program that opens one gives you a new file in its own format.

What replaces Microsoft Publisher, in Microsoft's own words

Microsoft's answer is Word and PowerPoint: its Publisher page maps 13 everyday jobs, naming Word for 12 of them and PowerPoint for 7. Its FAQ then names one program outside Microsoft, Affinity, which it says "may be able to import native Publisher files".

Publisher jobMicrosoft recommendsRanked tools with a template, format or tool for it on their pages
Ads or flyersWord or PowerPointCanva, Adobe Express, Marq, Swift Publisher
BrochuresWord or PowerPointCanva, Affinity, Scribus*, Adobe Express, InDesign, QuarkXPress, Marq, Swift Publisher
Banners, signs, postersPowerPointCanva, Affinity, Scribus*, Adobe Express, InDesign, Marq
CertificatesWord or PowerPointCanva, Affinity, Adobe Express, Marq
Business cardsWord or PowerPointCanva, Affinity, Scribus*, LibreOffice, Adobe Express, Marq, Swift Publisher
Invoices, applications and formsWordCanva, Adobe Express, Google Docs, Marq
CalendarsWord or PowerPointCanva, Scribus, Marq, Swift Publisher
EnvelopesWordLibreOffice, Swift Publisher
LabelsWordAffinity, LibreOffice, Marq, Swift Publisher
LetterheadWordAdobe Express, Marq
NewsletterWordCanva, Affinity, Scribus*, LibreOffice Draw, Google Docs, Marq
Programs, folded paper projectsWordMarq
Cards (greeting, compliment)Word or PowerPointCanva, Adobe Express, Marq

The third column is how the coverage rule, P2, is counted for the ten tools outside Microsoft, and it reads only what each vendor's own pages name; Word and PowerPoint are counted from Microsoft's own table. The four jobs marked * for Scribus appear only in a template list inside its source code; with the calendar wizard on its wiki, that makes five. Counted from human-readable pages only, Scribus would take 0 on P2, a reading printed with the sensitivities. Google's template page needs a Google sign-in, so Google Docs is counted from its help pages only.

Grid of the thirteen Publisher jobs in Microsoft's replacement table, each tagged with the app Microsoft recommends: Word for twelve jobs, PowerPoint for seven, and PowerPoint alone for banners, signs and posters, with Affinity named separately in Microsoft's FAQ as a third-party program that may import Publisher files.
Microsoft's own replacement table: Word appears twelve times, PowerPoint seven, and banners, signs and posters are PowerPoint's alone.

Read the table with one caution. Microsoft names Word for newsletters, labels and letterhead, and its route into Word runs through a PDF of your old file, so you keep the words and the layout may shift. If PowerPoint is the program you would rather leave, our ranking of PowerPoint alternatives covers that question on its own rules.

How we scored: rubric P, seven rules, 100 points

Seven rules add up to 100 points, the heaviest worth 20, each with a printed full mark, middle mark and zero, applied to the reference rows exactly as to the twelve ranked tools.

Method Scored on documented capability from official vendor pages opened on 5 November 2026. Not a new hands-on test. Every page was read signed out, with no cookie banner accepted, no form filled and nothing downloaded or bought. A cell scores zero only where an official page was opened and does not document the feature. Where a marketing page and a help page disagree, the help page decides. NOXI's cells rest only on its own product record for version 2.0.
CodeRule (points)The rule, identical for every tool
P1Opens your existing .pub files (20)20 = the vendor's own page documents opening or importing Publisher (.pub) files · 10 = the vendor documents importing a PDF for editing (Microsoft's own route is .pub to PDF first) · 0 = neither
P2Covers Publisher's everyday jobs (15)Count Microsoft's 13 jobs with templates, a format or a tool documented: 15 = 8 or more · 8 = 4 to 7 · 0 = 3 or fewer
P3Print-ready output (15)15 = PDF with bleed or crop marks, or CMYK or PDF/X documented · 8 = PDF without print options · 0 = no PDF
P4Free to keep using (15)15 = free with no time limit, no watermark and no monthly cap · 8 = free with a watermark, a cap or premium items locked · 0 = trial or paid only
P5Works on your desktop (10)10 = desktop app for Windows and macOS · 5 = one of the two · 0 = browser only
P6Drafts a layout from a request (10)10 = AI generates a whole layout from a prompt · 5 = AI for text or images only · 0 = none
P7Right to left (15)15 = Arabic or Hebrew right-to-left documented · 8 = several languages, none right to left · 0 = not documented

The half-mark rule, printed. A middle mark is half the rule's weight (20 gives 10, 15 gives 8, 10 gives 5), and a cell takes it only when the vendor's page documents what the middle line names. Every middle cell in the full table below says why inside the cell.

The tie-break chain, printed: P1, then P4, then P3, then P2, then alphabetical order of the name. Three ties needed it: Scribus and LibreOffice Draw on 76 (P3 decides, 15 against 8), Adobe Express and PowerPoint on 66 (P1 decides, 10 against 0), and InDesign and QuarkXPress on 55 (equal on every rule; the name decides).

Three readings that settle the close cells

  • "Free" means what the page states. Word, PowerPoint and Google Docs on the web are free with no cap stated, so 15.
  • Premium content is not a paid AI feature. Templates or elements locked or watermarked on Free count as "premium items locked" (8); a paid-only AI tool does not, for Affinity, Word, PowerPoint and Google Docs alike. The other reading is a sensitivity below.
  • Right to left counts in the product people use today. Adobe's known-issues page, updated 23 October 2026, calls its support partial, so 8. Scribus documents right-to-left documents only for development release 1.7.4, so 8. Google's page names no language and is read as covering Arabic and Hebrew.

Every cell, with the reason for each half mark

Canva's 83 is 10 plus 15 plus 15 plus 8 plus 10 plus 10 plus 15, and every row is added the same way.

#ToolP1 .pub (20)P2 Jobs (15)P3 Print (15)P4 Free (15)P5 Desktop (10)P6 Layout from a request (10)P7 Right to left (15)Total
1Canva10 · imports a PDF as editable, no .pub15158 · premium elements watermarked on Free10101583
2Affinity (by Canva)208 · six jobs1515105 · image AI only, on a Canva premium plan8 · ten languages, none right to left81
3Microsoft Word10 · Microsoft's PDF route158 · PDF without print marks15105 · Copilot drafts text1578
4Scribus208 · five jobs15151008 · right-to-left documents only in development release 1.7.476
5LibreOffice Draw208 · four jobs8 · PDF and PDF/UA, no print marks151001576
6Adobe Express10 · imports a PDF, no .pub15158 · limited assets on Free0108 · Adobe calls its support partial66
7Microsoft PowerPoint08 · seven jobs8 · PDF without print marks1510101566
8Adobe InDesign10 · opens a PDF as editable, not in MENA versions0 · two jobs150105 · image AI; an English-only AI Assistant that builds layouts from a description is documented for InDesign (beta), and beta features count half1555
9QuarkXPress10 · converts editable PDFs0 · one job150105 · generates text1555
10Google Docs10 · converts a PDF to text0 · two jobs documented signed out8 · PDF without print marks1505 · drafts text on a paid plan1553
11Marq (formerly Lucidpress)015158 · three-project cap, 72 dpi export on Free05 · writing assistant043
12Swift Publisher08 · six jobs1505 · Mac only08 · six languages, none right to left36
refNOXI (not ranked)08 · six jobs as formats8 · PDF, print options not stated8 · five documents a month, no watermark0101549
refMicrosoft Designer (not ranked)00 · two jobs08 · FAQ dated 2024 mentions a subscription for frequent use010018

The gaps between the rows you will actually compare

No gap at the top comes from a single rule.

  • Canva 83 minus Affinity 81 = 2: Canva gains 7 on jobs, 5 on layouts and 7 on right to left (19); Affinity gains 10 on .pub files and 7 on staying free (17).
  • Affinity 81 minus Word 78 = 3: Affinity gains 10 on .pub files and 7 on print (17); Word gains 7 on jobs and 7 on right to left (14).
  • Scribus and LibreOffice Draw, level on 76: Scribus takes 7 more on print, LibreOffice 7 more on right to left, and the chain reaches P3.

Sensitivity readings: what moves when a weight or a cell moves

Canva stays first under equal weights, and the leader changes under four readings: without right to left, Scribus or Affinity documenting right to left, and Word documenting print marks.

  • Without the right-to-left rule P7, rescaled to 100: Affinity 85.9, Scribus 80.0, Canva 80.0, Word 74.1, LibreOffice Draw 71.8, Adobe Express 68.2, PowerPoint 60.0, Marq 50.6, InDesign 47.1, QuarkXPress 47.1, Google Docs 44.7, Swift Publisher 32.9. Affinity leads. NOXI's reference score becomes 40.0, twelfth of thirteen if ranked.
  • Scribus right to left at full, counting the development release: Scribus 83, level with Canva and first on P1.
  • Adobe Express right to left at full: 73, still sixth.
  • Equal weights, each cell as a share of its maximum: Canva 86.2, Affinity 79.5, Word 79.0, then LibreOffice Draw, PowerPoint and Scribus on 72.4, Adobe Express 65.2, InDesign and QuarkXPress 57.1, Google Docs 50.5, Marq 43.3, Swift Publisher 36.7.
  • Single cells that change the top. Affinity documenting right to left (P7 15) gives 88, first. Word documenting bleed, crop marks or PDF/X (P3 15) gives 85, first. Canva documenting .pub import (P1 20) gives 93, first by ten.
  • Scribus readings. If the wiki's import list were rejected (P1 0): 56, seventh. Counting only human-readable pages for jobs (P2 0): 68, fifth.
  • Paid-only AI read as "premium items locked" for Affinity, Word, PowerPoint and Google Docs alike: Canva 83, Scribus 76, LibreOffice Draw 76, Affinity 74 and fourth, Word 71, Adobe Express 66, PowerPoint 59, Google Docs 46.
  • Two more single cells. Adobe Express with a Windows and macOS app (P5 10): 76, sixth, behind Scribus and LibreOffice Draw on P1. Google Docs at 10 on P6: 58, eighth.

How to open .pub files without Publisher

Three free programs document opening .pub files themselves: Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw. Six more work from a PDF instead, Word among them, which only helps if you can still make the PDF.

  • Affinity. Its help page says you can import Publisher (.pub) documents "without needing Publisher itself", from Publisher 97, 2000, 2002 and later. The same page lists what does not survive: tables arrive as text frames; hyperlinks, bulleted and numbered lists, gradient fills, EMF and PICT images, multi-column text frames and master-page content are dropped or simplified; and "color, rotation, and text-formatting accuracy are not guaranteed". Affinity's marketing calls the import native; the help page is the one to plan around.
  • Scribus. The 1.6.0 release page on the Scribus wiki says it "can open / import files created by other DTP programs", naming Microsoft Publisher (PUB). The project's own site refused our browser twice, so this rests on its wiki; The Document Foundation confirms Scribus imports Publisher files with the same library as LibreOffice.
  • LibreOffice Draw. The Document Foundation's post of 14 October 2026 calls Draw "the quickest way to open, view, edit and manage Publisher documents", and adds that Draw is not a desktop publishing application but suits small multi-page documents such as newsletters.
  • The PDF routes. Word opens a PDF for editing, Microsoft's own route. Canva imports a PDF to update its text, images and layout, keeping the original as close as it can. Adobe Express imports and edits PDFs on its free plan. InDesign's Open PDF converts a PDF to an editable document, a feature its help says is not available in its Arabic or Hebrew (MENA) versions. QuarkXPress converts editable PDFs. Google Docs converts a PDF to text and warns that the format might not transfer. Each takes 10 of 20 on P1.
Four routes out of a Publisher file compared side by side: Affinity imports .pub files from Publisher 97 onwards but drops tables, lists, hyperlinks and master-page content; Scribus 1.6 imports Publisher files according to its wiki; LibreOffice Draw opens and edits Publisher documents according to The Document Foundation; and Microsoft's own route converts a Publisher file to PDF and opens the PDF in Word, where the layout may vary.
Three programs open the .pub itself. Every other route needs a PDF first, which means Publisher, a converter or one of the three.

The practical order is simple. Open your most complicated file, the one with a table, a masthead and two columns, in two of the three, and rebuild your templates in whichever keeps more of it. Keep the original .pub files: Affinity cannot write .pub back, so they are your only copy of the old layout.

Definition Master page. A background page in Publisher that holds what repeats on every page, such as a newsletter's masthead, page numbers or a border. Affinity's help lists master-page content among what its .pub import drops.

Microsoft Publisher alternatives, free: what costs nothing and stays that way

Six of the twelve are free with no time limit and no cap on the pages we read, and three of those six also open .pub files: Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw.

ToolWhat is freeThe condition, as the vendor writes itP4
AffinityThe whole app, for individuals"Completely free for individuals"; a Canva account gives access; AI tools need a Canva premium plan15
ScribusThe whole appOpen source, with installation packages for Windows, macOS and Linux15
LibreOffice DrawThe whole suite"No subscription, no account requirement, and no feature withheld behind payment"15
Word and PowerPointMicrosoft 365 for the webFree access to Word, Excel and PowerPoint on the web; the desktop apps come with a paid plan or a one-time purchase15
Google DocsGoogle's free consumer appsFree Drive users get 15 GB of storage; AI drafting needs a paid plan15
CanvaCanva FreePremium elements carry watermarks for Free users8
Adobe ExpressAdobe Express FreeBasic editing tools and limited assets; PDF import is free8
MarqMarq FreeA three-project limit and screen-quality (72 dpi) export8
InDesign, QuarkXPress, Swift PublisherA free trialInDesign and QuarkXPress: 7 days; Swift Publisher: a trial, then $19.990

One honest note: Word and PowerPoint take 15 on P4 for the free web apps and 10 on P5 for the desktop apps, which Microsoft sells with its paid plans or as a one-time purchase. Our guide to getting PowerPoint for free walks through those official routes.

Paid plans, as each page served them on 5 November 2026 to a machine in the UAE, never converted. Canva's pricing page showed Pro at 440 UAE dirhams a year for one person and Business at 700 a person a year. Adobe Express showed Premium at AED38.85 a month. InDesign showed AED88.20 a month on an annual plan billed monthly. Microsoft's en-us store showed Microsoft 365 Personal at $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month, Family at $129.99 a year, and Office Home 2024 at $179.99 once. Marq showed Pro at $15 a month billed monthly and Team at $12 a month. Swift Publisher showed $19.99. QuarkXPress sells a subscription and a perpetual licence; its shop gave a direct fetch a placeholder and a browser discounted figures, so we print no Quark price. Canva's free plan in full is on our page asking whether Canva is free.

NOXI is free to start: the free plan covers five documents a month, every change after that, by chat or by hand, is free, and new accounts get a welcome gift to use in their first 14 days. Downloads carry no watermark, and no credit card is needed to start.

Best desktop publishing software for people who are not designers

On these rules Canva is the closest fit for someone who is not a designer: templates for nine of Publisher's 13 jobs, a print PDF with bleed and crop marks, and desktop apps for Mac and Windows. Affinity is the closer fit for someone who already laid out pages in Publisher and wants the files back.

Eight of the twelve document a print-ready file and take the full 15 on P3: Canva (PDF Print at 300 dpi with bleed and crop marks, CMYK on paid plans), Affinity (PDF/X, crop and registration marks, pre-flight checks), Scribus (PDF/X-4), Adobe Express (a CMYK print PDF with crop marks and bleed), InDesign (printer's marks, bleed and PDF/X), QuarkXPress (PDF/X-1a, X-3 and X-4), Marq (bleed and crop marks) and Swift Publisher (CMYK and a bleed size). Word, PowerPoint, LibreOffice Draw and Google Docs export a PDF with no print marks stated and take 8, though LibreOffice's accessible PDF/UA is a strength this rule does not count.

Definition Bleed, crop marks and PDF/X. Bleed is artwork that runs past the trim line so a slightly off cut still reaches the edge. Crop marks show the printer where to cut. PDF/X is a family of PDF standards made for print exchange; many commercial printers ask for it.

The professional tools sit lower than their reputation because P2 counts Publisher's everyday jobs on the vendor's pages: InDesign's product page names two of the 13 (brochures and posters), QuarkXPress one (brochures), and both are paid after a 7-day trial. They suit a print shop more than a parish newsletter. Marq has the opposite profile: templates for 12 of the 13 jobs and proper print marks, but a free plan capped at three projects and no desktop app. For posters on their own, our poster maker ranking applies rules built for posters.

Affinity has one gap worth knowing before you choose it as a Publisher replacement: its help says no templates ship with the app by default. You bring the layout, usually from your own .pub file.

Publisher alternatives for Arabic and Hebrew: the right-to-left column

Seven of the twelve document right-to-left text in the product people use today and take the full 15: Canva, Word, LibreOffice Draw, PowerPoint, InDesign, QuarkXPress and Google Docs.

  • Canva mirrors the page to match text direction, a Translate setting.
  • Word and PowerPoint: Microsoft 365 supports right-to-left features, naming Arabic.
  • LibreOffice lists Hebrew and Arabic among its complex text layout languages.
  • InDesign gives full support in its Arabic or Hebrew versions, where its PDF conversion is not available.
  • QuarkXPress lets you type and mix Arabic, Hebrew, Persian and Urdu.
  • Google Docs turns on right-to-left controls automatically.

Four sit at the middle mark. Affinity lists ten interface languages, none right to left. Scribus' stable 1.6 supports complex scripts such as Arabic and Hebrew, and its 1.7.4 development release, a wiki page edited on 27 October 2026, adds right-to-left document layout. Adobe Express shipped Arabic with a right-to-left layout; its known-issues entry of 23 October is labelled Resolved, yet still says "RTL language support is partial" and gives a workaround for Arabic mixed with English. Swift Publisher lists six languages, none right to left. The Marq pages we read state no language support, so Marq takes 0.

For readers who write in Arabic, our Arabic ranking of Publisher alternatives, written for schools and offices in the region, starts from Microsoft's steps for saving .pub files as PDF and reads the same vendor pages.

What changed recently

Five vendor pages behind the cells above carry a date in the last five weeks.

VendorWhat movedDate on their pageWhen we read it (UTC)
MicrosoftMicrosoft 365 subscribers lose Publisher "on or shortly after October 1, 2026"; perpetual support ends October 13, 2026Page metadata 27 October 2026; dates in the text 1 and 13 October 20265 November, 15:43, re-read 16:38
The Document Foundation"LibreOffice Draw is the quickest way to open, view, edit and manage Publisher documents"14 October 20265 November, 15:51
ScribusDevelopment release 1.7.4 brings major right-to-left and bidirectional text improvementsWiki page edited 27 October 20265 November, 15:36
LibreOfficeLibreOffice 26.8.2 released29 October 20265 November, 15:51
AffinityAffinity for iPad launches; a November fix for EMF files from Publisher that did not import2 November 2026, and November 20265 November, 15:50

What these rules don't measure

Seven rules cannot hold a layout job, and much of what they leave out is where other tools are strongest.

  • How faithfully an import keeps your pages. The pages we read publish no fidelity test, and only Affinity lists its losses.
  • Typography and layout depth. InDesign, QuarkXPress and Affinity offer print and layout control far beyond what P3 counts.
  • Mail merge and data merge. Word merges from an Excel spreadsheet; Affinity's data merge builds personalised certificates, labels and business cards. Neither is scored.
  • Template libraries. Canva and Marq publish templates for most of Publisher's jobs, and P2 counts jobs, not how many designs each offers.
  • Linux and accessibility. Scribus and LibreOffice run on Linux, and LibreOffice exports PDF/UA. Neither has a rule here.

Not measured for anyone: print-shop acceptance, learning curve and speed. If your job is a certificate rather than a newsletter, our ranking of certificate makers scores that job on its own rules.

What would change this ranking

Three page changes would put a new tool first, each tied to a page and a re-check date.

  • 1. Scribus documents right-to-left documents in a stable release. If a 1.6.x or 1.8 release page on wiki.scribus.net documents it, P7 goes to 15 and Scribus reaches 83, level with Canva and first on P1. Re-check 1 December 2026.
  • 2. Affinity adds Arabic or Hebrew, or a right-to-left article. If the language answer in the affinity.studio download FAQ or its help names one, P7 goes to 15 and Affinity reaches 88, first alone. Re-check 1 December 2026.
  • 3. Microsoft documents print marks for Word's PDF export. If its save-as-PDF support page adds bleed, crop marks or PDF/X, Word's P3 goes to 15 and Word reaches 85, first alone. Re-check 1 December 2026.

Canva adding .pub import to its upload formats page would keep Canva first, on 93. Adobe MAX runs from 10 to 12 November 2026, and we re-read Adobe Express's known-issues page on 13 November.

Worked example: one parish office, 400 .pub files, one Christmas programme

Example Margaret Okafor, a fictional volunteer secretary at a parish in Leeds, has 400 Publisher newsletters on a Windows laptop, a Christmas service programme due at the printer on 1 December, and a winter classes leaflet to replace. The parish pays for Microsoft 365, so Publisher stopped opening for her in October. The table turns her week into arithmetic.

Step 1, her four rules. She needs neither AI layouts nor right to left, so she keeps four rules worth 60 points: opening .pub (20), print (15), free (15) and desktop (10). Affinity scores 20 + 15 + 15 + 10 = 60. Scribus scores 20 + 15 + 15 + 10 = 60. LibreOffice Draw scores 20 + 8 + 15 + 10 = 53. Canva scores 10 + 15 + 8 + 10 = 43, and Word 10 + 8 + 15 + 10 = 43. Two programs reach the full 60.

Step 2, the tie. The printer wants a PDF with 3 mm bleed, and both Affinity (PDF/X with crop marks) and Scribus (PDF/X-4) document a print file. So the tie breaks on what her own file keeps. Her newsletter has a masthead on the master page and a table of service times. Affinity's help says master-page content is dropped and tables arrive as text frames, so in Affinity she rebuilds two things once. Scribus' wiki lists the import without listing losses, so she opens the same file there and compares.

Step 3, the archive. She does not convert 400 files. When someone asks for an old issue, she opens that one file in LibreOffice Draw, free and with no account. The 400 originals stay as they are, because none of the pages we read offers saving back to .pub.

Step 4, the leaflet. The winter classes leaflet needs new text and a timetable, not the old layout. She opens last season's leaflet in LibreOffice Draw, exports it as a PDF, and uses that PDF as input for a new brochure. That is the build-it flow below. Total software cost for the week: nothing beyond the Microsoft 365 plan the parish already pays.

Build it: an A5 winter classes brochure from last season's leaflet

Six steps turn an old leaflet's text into a new A5 brochure with a timetable, downloaded as a PDF. This is the Brochure tile in NOXI 2.0, which makes 14 formats from one request: presentation, document, brochure, social post, poster, one-pager, report, proposal, résumé, infographic, letter, invitation, certificate and menu, or Auto to let NOXI choose.

Prompt 1 · the brochure in one request

An A5 brochure for our winter classes, from the attached leaflet's text, with a timetable table: [the classes], [day and time of each], [the room], [the fee, or free], and how to sign up. A cover, the timetable on page 2, and the parish hall's address and contacts on the last page. Warm and easy to read.

Prompt 2 · one change in the table

In the timetable, move [Beginners' Spanish] to [Thursday at 18:30] and keep everything else exactly as it is.

Prompt 3 · a shorter cover

Shorten the cover title to four words and make the first class date the largest line on the cover.

Step 1. Choose Brochure on Home

Open noxi.ai, create a free account, no credit card needed to start, and choose the Brochure tile on Home.

Step 2. Attach last season's leaflet and describe the brochure

Attach the leaflet as a PDF and paste Prompt 1 with your own details. NOXI reads the leaflet's text and builds a new brochure from it; it does not open .pub files or keep the old layout.

Step 3. Press Create and watch it build

NOXI sketches every page first, picks a style for the subject from a library of more than ninety styles, then reads the brochure through and checks the rendered pages for cut-off text, overlaps and tiny labels.

Step 4. Set A5 in the Design panel

Open Design and set the page size to A5, with the orientation and margins you want. The same panel holds your accent colour, logo and fonts.

Step 5. Change the timetable by asking

Ask in the chat, as in Prompts 2 and 3, and NOXI changes only what you asked. Or click a cell and type, and add rows or columns by hand. Every change can be undone, and version history restores an earlier version in one click.

Step 6. Export the PDF

Export the brochure as a PDF. The file is rendered and compared with the pages before the download appears and carries no watermark on the free plan. Before a print shop run, ask the shop what file it needs.

Creating needs a free account, and the free plan covers five documents a month, with every change after that free. For the post that announces the classes, our ranking of AI social media post generators scores the tools built for that job.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Microsoft Publisher alternative?
On seven printed rules checked on 5 November 2026, Canva scores highest with 83 of 100, then Affinity 81, Microsoft Word 78, and Scribus and LibreOffice Draw on 76. If opening your old .pub files matters most, Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw are the three whose own pages document it, and all three are free.
What replaces Microsoft Publisher?
Microsoft's own answer is Word and PowerPoint. Its Publisher page, dated 27 October 2026 in its metadata, maps 13 Publisher jobs, naming Word for 12 and PowerPoint for 7, with banners, signs and posters going to PowerPoint alone. Its FAQ also names Affinity as a program that may import native Publisher files.
Has Microsoft discontinued Publisher?
Microsoft calls it end of life. Microsoft 365 subscribers lose access on or shortly after 1 October 2026, and support for the perpetual version ended on 13 October 2026, when Office LTSC 2021 and Consumer Office 2021 reached end of support. Owners of a perpetual copy can still install and use it, without support.
When does Microsoft Publisher stop working?
For Microsoft 365 subscribers it stopped on or shortly after 1 October 2026, as Microsoft's removal update rolls out, and they can no longer open or edit .pub files in Publisher. A perpetual copy keeps working: Microsoft says owners can still install it and edit their files, though support ended on 13 October 2026.
How do I open .pub files without Publisher?
Use one of three free programs whose own pages document it. Affinity imports .pub files from Publisher 97 onwards, Scribus 1.6 lists Publisher import on its wiki, and The Document Foundation says LibreOffice Draw opens and edits Publisher documents. Affinity's help warns that tables, lists and master-page content do not come across intact.
Is there a free Microsoft Publisher alternative?
Yes. Six of the twelve scored here are free with no time limit and no stated cap, checked 5 November 2026: Affinity, Scribus, LibreOffice Draw, and Word, PowerPoint and Google Docs on the web. Affinity, Scribus and LibreOffice Draw also open .pub files. Canva and Adobe Express have free plans with premium items locked.
What is the best Microsoft Publisher alternative for Mac?
On these rules, Canva on 83 and Affinity on 81 both run as Mac desktop apps, and Affinity also opens .pub files and is free for individuals. Scribus and LibreOffice publish macOS packages and open .pub files too. Swift Publisher is Mac only, costs $19.99 after a trial and documents no .pub import.
Can Canva open Publisher files?
No. Canva's upload formats page, read on 5 November 2026, lists PDF, PowerPoint, Word and Affinity files but no .pub. Canva can import a PDF of your Publisher file and make its text and images editable, which is why it scores half on the .pub rule. Affinity by Canva does open .pub files.
Is Affinity really free?
Yes, for individuals. Affinity's download FAQ says it is completely free for individuals, with no restrictions or payment needed, and a Canva account gives you access. The AI tools inside Affinity need a Canva premium plan. It runs on Windows, macOS and iPadOS, and the iPad version launched on 2 November 2026.
Can Google Docs replace Microsoft Publisher?
Partly, for text-heavy jobs such as a newsletter. Google Docs is free, handles right-to-left text and converts a PDF to editable text, though Google warns the format might not transfer. It has no desktop app and no print marks, and its help documents two of Publisher's 13 jobs signed out, so it scores 53, tenth.

Sources & methodology

Every vendor page below was opened on 5 November 2026, signed out, as the method note describes. Times are UTC. Prices appear only in the currency each page printed that day, and nothing is converted. Margaret Okafor, her parish and its classes are fictional. The seven rules are new for this ranking and total 100 points.

Written by Aidar Akmaev

Founder and designer of NOXI, which makes presentations, documents, brochures and eleven other formats from one request. NOXI is scored here as an unranked reference row; see the disclosure at the top.